## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Adelaide Horn is retiring as commissioner of the
- 2 Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services (DADS) in August
- 3 2009, drawing to a close an outstanding career in public service;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, Over the course of more than three decades, Addie
- 6 Horn has developed expertise in such areas as institutional and
- 7 community care services, policy development, consumer affairs,
- 8 vocational rehabilitation, and program coordination, and she is
- 9 highly regarded by her colleagues for her extensive knowledge of
- 10 legal and legislative issues; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Ms. Horn was on the staff of the Austin-Travis
- 12 County Mental Health and Mental Retardation Center, and she later
- 13 served as the director of programs for the Texas Department of
- 14 Mental Health and Mental Retardation, where she helped develop a
- 15 Quality Assurance and Improvement System for Mental Retardation
- 16 Services; she also worked in the private sector in New Mexico and
- 17 Indiana, and served as the director of long-term care services for
- 18 the Texas Health and Human Services Commission before she became
- 19 the deputy commissioner for DADS in 2004; and
- WHEREAS, The department's commissioner since 2006, Ms. Horn
- 21 has overseen all of the agency's activities and care services as
- 22 well as its nearly 15,000 employees; in this role, she has sought to
- 23 enhance the overall system of care for individuals who are aging or
- 24 have disabilities, and she has increased funding for programs and

H.R. No. 62

- 1 development, reached more clients, and introduced cost-effective
- 2 practices; in addition, she developed the state's nationally
- 3 recognized Promoting Independence Plan and Initiative; and
- WHEREAS, Ms. Horn has been recognized for her achievements on
- 5 numerous occasions, earning the 1999 Leadership Award from the
- 6 Texas Association on Mental Retardation and the 2004 Public Servant
- 7 of the Year designation from the Coalition of Texans with
- 8 Disabilities; in addition, she is the coauthor of "Addressing
- 9 Consumer Expectations in Texas," which was published in a 2000
- 10 issue of the journal of the American Association on Intellectual
- 11 and Developmental Disabilities, and in 2004, she completed the
- 12 Governor's Executive Development Program at The University of Texas
- 13 at Austin; and
- 14 WHEREAS, With the utmost dedication and professionalism,
- 15 Addie Horn has made significant contributions to the State of
- 16 Texas, and she may indeed reflect with pride on a career well spent
- 17 as she prepares to embark on the next exciting chapter of her life;
- 18 now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 20 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby honor Adelaide Horn on the
- 21 occasion of her retirement from the Texas Department of Aging and
- 22 Disability Services and extend to her sincere best wishes for the
- 23 future; and, be it further
- 24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 25 prepared for Ms. Horn as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 26 House of Representatives.

Davis of Harris

## H.R. No. 62

Gattis Menendez Straus Geren Allen Merritt Alonzo Giddings Miklos Alvarado Miller of Comal Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Anchia Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Morrison Aycock Berman Hamilton Naishtat Bohac Hancock Oliveira Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Harper-Brown Branch Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Heflin Brown of Brazos Parker Hernandez Burnam Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Peña Hochberg Castro Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Hopson Pitts Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cohen Quintanilla Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Crabb Isett Ritter Jackson Craddick Rodriguez Creighton Jones Rose Sheffield Keffer Crownover Kent Shelton Darby Davis of Harris King of Parker Smith of Tarrant King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Davis of Dallas Smith of Harris Deshotel Smithee Driver Solomons Dukes Kolkhorst Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Dutton Laubenberg Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Turner of Tarrant Elkins Lucio III Madden Turner of Harris England Farabee Maldonado Vaught Veasey Farias Mallory Caraway Marquez Villarreal Farrar Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores Flynn McCall Weber McClendon Woolley Frost Gallego McReynolds

TT	$\Gamma$	7A T -	$\sim$
н	$\sim$	No.	h /

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 62 was adopted by the House on July 2, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House