SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 2

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Socorro High School Bulldogs baseball team, which won the Class 5A University Interscholastic League state championship title on June 13, 2009; and

WHEREAS, The Bulldogs were victorious in their first trip to the state finals, defeating the Lufkin High School Panthers by a score of 12-7 in a game that saw them hold off a late Panther rally to capture El Paso's first state baseball championship in 60 years; and

WHEREAS, These young athletes have demonstrated great talent and perseverance throughout the year; team members George Stoltz, Oscar Sandate, Ivan Sigala, Josh Rodriguez, Angel Soria, Armando Muniz, Luis Yanez, Eric Herrera, Aaron Olivas, Roger Favela, Jesus Diaz, Marcus Molina, Jessiray Navarrette, Sergio Mendoza, Cory Falvey, Bobby Mares, Octavio Amparan, Chris Guzman, and Rene Rodriguez can all take great pride in their outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership of head coach Chris Forbes and assistant coaches Joe Alvarez, Adrian Garcia, Federico Contreras, and Heriberto Reyes, and with the support of trainer Juan Renteria, scorekeeper Michael McMinn, and announcer Frank Perez, the Bulldogs have developed exceptional teamwork and discipline; and

WHEREAS, Socorro High School and the City of El Paso are proud of the Bulldogs for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend the Socorro High School Bulldogs baseball team on their successful season and extend congratulations to them on winning the Class 5A University Interscholastic League state championship title; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Shapleigh

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 2, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate