Amend CSHB 646 (House Committee Printing) by striking page 2, line 21, through page 3, line 13, and substituting:

(b) The membership of the commission consists of:

(1) the governor of each party state or that governor's designee;

(2) one representative each from:

(A) the Mississippi Energy and Transportation Board, or its successor;

(B) the Office of Aviation and Public Transportation of the Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development, or its successor;

(C) the Alabama Department of Energy, or its successor; and

(D) the Texas Department of Transportation; and

(3) five citizens from each party state, appointed by the governor of the party state.

(c) The citizens appointed from the state of Texas must reside in a federally designated high-speed rail corridor.

(d) An appointed member of the commission serves a four-year term.

(e) A vacancy on the commission shall be filled for the unexpired portion of the term by the governor of the party state that appointed the member whose position becomes vacant.

(f) A member is not entitled to compensation for service on the commission but is entitled to reimbursement for reasonable expenses the member incurs in performing commission duties.