Amend CSHB 4833 (Senate committee printing) by adding the following appropriately numbered SECTION to the bill and renumbering subsequent SECTIONS of the bill accordingly:

SECTION _____. (a) Subsection (a), Section 43.134, Government Code, is amended to read as follows:

- (a) The voters of Hale <u>County</u> [and <u>Swisher counties</u>] elect a district attorney for the 64th Judicial District who represents the state in that district court only in <u>Hale County</u> [those counties].
- (b) Subchapter B, Chapter 45, Government Code, is amended by adding Section 45.319 to read as follows:
- Sec. 45.319. SWISHER COUNTY. The county attorney in Swisher County shall represent the state in all matters pending before the district court in Swisher County.
- (c) Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to read as follows:

Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter applies to the state prosecuting attorney, all county prosecutors, and the following state prosecutors:

- (1) the district attorneys for Kenedy and Kleberg Counties and for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 39th, 42nd, 43rd, 46th, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th, 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 109th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th, 123rd, 142nd, 143rd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th, 216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th, 271st, 286th, 329th, 344th, 349th, 355th, and 506th judicial districts;
- (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland, Fannin, Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and
 - (3) the county attorneys performing the duties of

district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron, Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Freestone, Lamar, Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree, Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Swisher, Terry, Webb, and Willacy.

(d) This section does not make an appropriation. A provision in this section that creates a new governmental program, creates a new entitlement, or imposes a new duty on a governmental entity is not mandatory during a fiscal period for which the legislature has not made a specific appropriation to implement the provision.