BILL ANALYSIS

Senate Research Center 81R4649 CBE-D

AUTHOR'S / SPONSOR'S STATEMENT OF INTENT

Since 1846, the lieutenant governor, a statewide elected official, has served as president of the Texas Senate, and Albert Clinton Horton was the first person to serve the citizens of Texas in that office. Texas Senate districts have been redefined from time to time since the First Texas Legislature met in 1846, when there were just 19 districts; senate membership was fixed at its present total of 31 by the Constitution of 1876.

The first senators to serve in each of the 31 districts were: William M. "Buckskin" Williams, District 1; Ballard C. Bagby, District 2; William Thomas Scott, District 3; James Lewis Hogg, District 4; Benjamin Rush Wallace, District 5; Jessie J. Robinson, District 6; George Tyler Wood, District 7; Henry J. Jewett, District 8; Jesse Grimes, District 9; Isaac W. Brashear, District 10; Thomas Freeman McKinney, District 11; John Greenville McNeil, District 12; Philip Minor Cuney, District 13; John F. Miller, District 14; Edward Burleson, District 15; Robert McAlpin Williams, District 16; Alexander H. Phillips, District 17; Jose Antonio Navarro, District 18; Henry Lawrence Kinney, District 19; David C. Van Derlip, District 20; Henry Clay Davis, District 21; Benjamin Rush Wallace, District 22; Thomas Hinds Duggan, District 23; Israel B. Bigelow, District 24; Henry Lawrence Kinney, District 28; James H. Durst, District 26; Claiborne Kyle, District 30; and Isaiah Addison Paschal, District 31.

The Texas Senate and House of Representatives challenge and encourage all Texas history teachers and their students to explore, discover, study, and celebrate the lives and achievements of the first president of the Texas Senate and the first Texas senator of their respective senate districts.

RESOLVED

That the 81st Legislature of the State of Texas hereby designate the year 2010 as the Texas First Lieutenant Governor and Senators Remembrance Year.