H.R. No. 53
         WHEREAS, The family and friends of Sergeant Charles Bernard
  Kitowski III suffered an unspeakable loss with the passing of this
  brave soldier in Afghanistan on August 12, 2007, at the age of 31;
         WHEREAS, Assigned to the 345th Psychological Operations
  Company, 2nd Psychological Operations Group, U.S. Army Civil
  Affairs and Psychological Operations Command, Sergeant Kitowski
  was based at Fort Bragg, North Carolina; he had served in
  Afghanistan for about a year when he was mortally wounded in
  Nangarhar Province; and
         WHEREAS, Born in Gulfport, Mississippi, on August 10, 1976,
  "Trey" Kitowski grew up in Katy and graduated from St. Thomas High
  School in Houston in 1994; he earned a degree in management
  information systems from the University of St. Thomas in 1998 and
  went on to work in the finance department of Southwest Airlines in
  Dallas; and
         WHEREAS, In 2005, with American troops engaged in a difficult
  struggle overseas, Charles Kitowski joined the United States Army,
  knowing that he would probably soon see action in the Middle East;
  his willing determination to shoulder a burden he could have easily
  avoided spoke volumes about his character, his sense of duty, and
  his patriotism; to all who knew him well, his decision was
  consistent with his whole-hearted readiness to give of himself in
  behalf of others; and
         WHEREAS, Known for his ever-present smile and fun-loving,
  generous nature, Sergeant Kitowski brought laughter and joy into
  the lives of his family and many friends; and
         WHEREAS, In recognition of his courageous service and
  immeasurable sacrifice, Sergeant Kitowski was awarded the Bronze
  Star, the Purple Heart, and the Meritorious Service Medal; his
  decorations also included the Combat Action Badge, the Global War
  on Terror Medal, and the Afghanistan Campaign Medal; and
         WHEREAS, A man who gave his best effort in everything he
  undertook, Sergeant Kitowski performed his mission in Afghanistan
  with exemplary dedication and professionalism; his unwavering
  integrity and devotion to this country reflected the highest ideals
  of the United States armed forces, and his fellow citizens owe him a
  debt of gratitude that the passage of time can never diminish; now,
  therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
  Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Sergeant Charles
  Bernard Kitowski III and extend deepest sympathy to the members of
  his family: to his parents, Theresa and Chuck Kitowski; to his
  grandparents, Zenia and Charlie Kitowski; to the love of his life,
  Berri Gentry; and to his other relatives and many friends; and, be
  it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
  Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Sergeant
  Charles Bernard Kitowski III.
Straus Gattis Menendez
Allen Geren Merritt
Alonzo Giddings Miklos
Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal
Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath
Anderson Guillen Moody
Aycock Gutierrez Morrison
Berman Hamilton Naishtat
Bohac Hancock Oliveira
Bolton Hardcastle Olivo
Bonnen Harless Orr
Branch Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr.
Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto
Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker
Burnam Hernandez Patrick
Button Herrero Paxton
Callegari Hilderbran Peņa
Castro Hochberg Phillips
Chavez Hodge Pickett
Chisum Homer Pierson
Christian Hopson Pitts
Cohen Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla
Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond
Cook Hughes Riddle
Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra
Crabb Isett Ritter
Craddick Jackson Rodriguez
Creighton Jones Rose
Crownover Keffer Sheffield
Darby Kent Shelton
Davis of Harris King of Parker Smith of Tarrant
Davis of Dallas King of Taylor Smith of Harris
Deshotel King of Zavala Smithee
Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons
Dukes Kolkhorst Strama
Dunnam Kuempel Swinford
Dutton Laubenberg Taylor
Edwards Legler Thibaut
Eiland Leibowitz Thompson
Eissler Lewis Truitt
Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant
England Madden Turner of Harris
Farabee Maldonado Vaught
Farias Mallory Caraway Veasey
Farrar Marquez Villarreal
Fletcher Martinez Vo
Flores Martinez Fischer Walle
Flynn McCall Weber
Frost McClendon Woolley
Gallego McReynolds Zerwas
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 53 was unanimously adopted by a rising
  vote of the House on February 26, 2009.
  Chief Clerk of the House