H.R. No. 1998
         WHEREAS, The Lufkin Daily News and members of its hardworking
  staff were recognized with several awards in the Better Newspaper
  Contest 2009 of the North and East Texas Press Association; and
         WHEREAS, Competing in the division for large dailies, the
  newspaper received first place awards in two categories, for
  headline writing by assistant news editor Stacy Faison and for news
  photography by staff photographer Joel Andrews; and
         WHEREAS, In addition to his first place win, Mr. Andrews came
  in second as photographer of the year and placed third in the sports
  photo category, and he and staff writer Nick Wade won third place
  for feature photo; and
         WHEREAS, Staff writer Jessica Savage likewise distinguished
  herself by taking home three awards, placing second in the feature
  story and news writing categories and as journalist of the year; and
         WHEREAS, The newspaper as a whole received recognition in a
  number of categories, including a second place win in the special
  section category for its 2008 Progress edition and second place for
  general excellence; it took third place for community service and
  fourth place for editorials, page design, and sweepstakes; and
         WHEREAS, With its receipt of 14 awards this year, the Lufkin
  Daily News has proven itself to be an outstanding Texas newspaper,
  and its gifted and dedicated journalists may take great pride in
  their ongoing commitment to excellence; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate the Lufkin Daily News on its awards
  from the Better Newspaper Contest 2009 and extend to the paper's
  staff sincere best wishes for continued achievement; and, be it
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for the Lufkin Daily News as an expression of high regard
  by the Texas House of Representatives.
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 1998 was adopted by the House on May
  19, 2009, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House