81R34946 CBE-D
  By: Moody H.R. No. 2369
         WHEREAS, Candelario Barragan of El Paso has distinguished
  himself as an outstanding educator in the Socorro Independent
  School District; and
         WHEREAS, The son of migrant farm workers, Cande Barragan
  graduated as valedictorian of Bowie High School and went on to earn
  a bachelor's degree in math, cum laude, from The University of Texas
  at El Paso; and
         WHEREAS, Today, Mr. Barragan is a popular mathematics teacher
  at El Dorado High School, where his enthusiastic and humorous
  teaching style is known to include singing and dancing; moreover,
  he dedicates his time to tutoring students before and after school,
  and as a result, many of them go on to achieve a 98 percent passing
  rate on the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills test; and
         WHEREAS, Mr. Barragan was named El Dorado's 2006-2007 Teacher
  of the Year, and in 2007, he was also one of four teachers in Texas
  to earn the Milken Family Foundation National Educator Award;
  called the "Oscars of teaching" by Teacher Magazine, the awards
  provide public recognition and financial rewards to elementary and
  secondary schoolteachers, principals, and others who are
  furthering excellence in education; and
         WHEREAS, Children are the Lone Star State's most precious
  resource, and a quality education is vital in order for young people
  to become successful adults; Cande Barragan demonstrates the
  passion, determination, and commitment that are the hallmarks of
  our best teachers, and he is indeed an exemplary role model in his
  profession; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
  Legislature hereby commend Candelario Barragan for his exceptional
  achievements in education and extend to him sincere best wishes for
  continued success with his important work; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for Mr. Barragan as an expression of high regard by the
  Texas House of Representatives.