S.B. No. 2169
  relating to the establishment of a smart growth policy work group
  and the development of a smart growth policy for this state.
         SECTION 1.  Subtitle B, Title 10, Government Code, is
  amended by adding Chapter 2060 to read as follows:
         Sec. 2060.001.  DEFINITION. In this chapter, "work group"
  means the work group on smart growth policy established under this
         Sec. 2060.002.  WORK GROUP ON SMART GROWTH POLICY. (a)  The
  work group is composed of a representative from the following
  agencies appointed by the executive head of the agency:
               (1)  the comptroller's office;
               (2)  the Texas Department of Transportation;
               (3)  the Texas Department of Housing and Community
               (4)  the Department of State Health Services;
               (5)  the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality;
               (6)  the Texas Workforce Commission;
               (7)  the General Land Office;
               (8)  the Office of Rural Community Affairs;
               (9)  the Railroad Commission of Texas;
               (10)  the Department of Agriculture;
               (11)  the Texas Education Agency;
               (12)  the Texas Water Development Board; and
               (13)  other state or regional agencies considered
  necessary by the co-presiding officers of the work group.
         (b)  The representatives from the Texas Department of
  Transportation, the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, and
  the Department of State Health Services shall serve as co-presiding
  officers of the work group.
         (c)  The work group shall hold regular meetings.
         Sec. 2060.003.  DUTIES OF WORK GROUP. (a)  The work group
  shall collaborate and develop a comprehensive smart growth plan for
  the state to prepare for the projected population growth in the
         (b)  In developing the plan, the work group shall make
  recommendations to the legislature for addressing:
               (1)  the quality of community life;
               (2)  the design of municipalities, counties, and
               (3)  economic issues;
               (4)  environmental issues;
               (5)  health issues;
               (6)  housing issues;
               (7)  transportation issues;
               (8)  mixed land use;
               (9)  gentrification;
               (10)  development decisions that are predictable,
  fair, and cost-effective; and
               (11)  the encouragement of community and stakeholder
  collaboration in development decisions.
         (c)  The work group shall coordinate with councils of
  government, regional mobility organizations, metropolitan planning
  associations, and smart growth experts in the public and private
  sectors, including the United States Environmental Protection
  Agency and planning departments in other states.
         (d)  The work group shall solicit and obtain input from
  relevant stakeholders.
         Sec. 2060.004.  REPORT TO LEGISLATURE. Not later than
  January 1 of each odd-numbered year, the work group shall submit a
  report to the legislature on the smart growth plan and policies
  developed by the work group under this chapter.
         Sec. 2060.005.  EXPIRATION. This chapter expires August 31,
         SECTION 2.  Not later than November 1, 2009, the executive
  head of each agency included on the work group under Chapter 2060,
  Government Code, as added by this Act, shall appoint a
  representative to the work group on smart growth policy.
         SECTION 3.  This Act takes effect September 1, 2009.
  ______________________________ ______________________________
     President of the Senate Speaker of the House     
         I hereby certify that S.B. No. 2169 passed the Senate on
  April 16, 2009, by the following vote: Yeas 31, Nays 0; and that
  the Senate concurred in House amendment on May 29, 2009, by the
  following vote: Yeas 31, Nays 0.
  Secretary of the Senate    
         I hereby certify that S.B. No. 2169 passed the House, with
  amendment, on May 26, 2009, by the following vote: Yeas 99,
  Nays 48, one present not voting.
  Chief Clerk of the House