WHEREAS, The first annual reunion of the family of Mary
  Proctor Foster in Fort Worth in July 2009 is a fitting
  opportunity to celebrate the life and achievements of one of the
  family's distinguished elders, Dr. J. D. Foster; and
         WHEREAS, The son of Mary Proctor Foster and Robert Foster,
  J. D. Foster was born in Kerens on April 14, 1925; he moved to
  Fort Worth in 1942, and he has gone on to reside in Minnesota and
  several communities in Texas, and he now lives in Humble; and
         WHEREAS, Dr. Foster is currently married to Delores
  Henderson, and he is the father to 10 children and has 43
  grandchildren, 62 great-grandchildren, and 21
  great-great-grandchildren; and
         WHEREAS, Dr. Foster served his nation as a sergeant in the
  United States Army, and he has worked as a farmer, a carpenter, a
  courier, and a butcher at the Armour Packing Plant; and
         WHEREAS, A man of strong religious faith, he has for many
  years been a pastor of the Church of God in Christ for
  congregations in Duluth and Minneapolis in Minnesota and in
  Frost, Texas; he has also pastored churches in Houston and
  Cleveland, Texas; he has been a police chaplain and a district
  superintendent, and he holds an honorary doctorate in divinity;
         WHEREAS, J. D. Foster is a venerated member of the Foster
  family, and it is most fitting that he be honored on the occasion
  of the first annual Foster family reunion; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st
  Legislature, hereby pay tribute to Dr. J. D. Foster and extend to
  him and his extended family sincere best wishes for continued
  happiness and for a memorable and meaningful celebration; and, be
  it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be
  prepared for Dr. Foster as an expression of high regard from the
  Texas Senate.
        President of the Senate
        I hereby certify that the
    above Resolution was adopted by
    the Senate on May 23, 2009.
        Secretary of the Senate
         Member, Texas Senate