By: Kolkhorst

H.B. No. 2473

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 1 AN ACT 2 relating to the composition of the First, Tenth, and Fourteenth 3 Courts of Appeals Districts. BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS: 4 SECTION 1. Sections 22.201(b), (k), and (o), Government 5 Code, are amended to read as follows: 6 7 (b) The First Court of Appeals District is composed of the counties of Austin, Brazoria, Chambers, Colorado, Fort Bend, 8 9 Galveston, Grimes, Harris, Walker, Waller, and Washington. The Tenth Court of Appeals District is composed of the 10 (k) counties of Bosque, Burleson, Brazos, Coryell, Ellis, Falls, 11 Freestone, Hamilton, Hill, Johnson, Leon, Limestone, Madison, 12 McLennan, Navarro, Robertson, and Somervell[, and Walker]. 13 14 (0) The Fourteenth Court of Appeals District is composed of the counties of Austin, Brazoria, Chambers, Colorado, Fort Bend, 15 Galveston, Grimes, Harris, Walker, Waller, and Washington. 16 SECTION 2. This Act does not affect the jurisdiction on 17 appeal of any case from a county that is transferred by this Act to a 18 different court of appeals district if the transcripts for the case 19 were filed before September 1, 2009, in the appropriate court of 20 appeals district. 21 22 SECTION 3. This Act takes effect September 1, 2009.

1