By: Chisum H.B. No. 4162

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

- 2 relating to the duties and salary of the county attorney of Swisher
- 3 County and the election and duties of the district attorney for the
- 4 64th Judicial District.
- 5 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
- 6 SECTION 1. Section 43.134(a), Government Code, is amended
- 7 to read as follows:
- 8 (a) The voters of Hale <u>County</u> [and <u>Swisher counties</u>] elect a
- 9 district attorney for the 64th Judicial District who represents the
- 10 state in that district court only in Hale County [those counties].
- 11 SECTION 2. Subchapter B, Chapter 45, Government Code, is
- 12 amended by adding Section 45.319 to read as follows:
- 13 Sec. 45.319. SWISHER COUNTY. The county attorney in
- 14 Swisher County shall represent the state in all matters pending
- 15 before the district court in Swisher County.
- 16 SECTION 3. Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to
- 17 read as follows:
- 18 Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter
- 19 applies to the state prosecuting attorney, all county prosecutors,
- 20 and the following state prosecutors:
- 21 (1) the district attorneys for Kenedy and Kleberg
- 22 Counties and for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd,
- 23 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th,
- 24 39th, 42nd, 43rd, 46th, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd,

H.B. No. 4162

- 1 64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th,
- 2 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 109th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th,
- 3 123rd, 142nd, 143rd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th,
- 4 216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th,
- 5 271st, 286th, 329th, 344th, 349th, 355th, and 506th judicial
- 6 districts;
- 7 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties
- 8 of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell,
- 9 Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland,
- 10 Fannin, Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo,
- 11 Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro,
- 12 Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith,
- 13 Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker,
- 14 Waller, Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and
- 15 (3) the county attorneys performing the duties of
- 16 district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron,
- 17 Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Freestone, Lamar, Lamb,
- 18 Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree,
- 19 Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Swisher, Terry, Webb,
- 20 and Willacy.
- 21 SECTION 4. This Act takes effect September 1, 2009.