H.C.R. No. 48

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Distinguished representatives of the Texas Tech
- 2 University System are gathering at the State Capitol on February
- 3 17, 2009, to celebrate the system's vital role in the Lone Star
- 4 State; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The TTU System, governed by a nine-member board of
- 6 regents and chancellor Kent Hance, consists of Texas Tech
- 7 University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, and
- 8 Angelo State University; the system currently enrolls more than
- 9 37,000 students, employs some 18,000 faculty and staff members, and
- 10 counts over 240,000 alumni; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Looking to the future, the system has developed five
- 12 strategic priorities, including improving access to education and
- 13 promoting learning, strengthening the academic excellence of
- 14 member institutions, expanding knowledge through research, serving
- 15 its communities, and effectively managing its resources; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Each component of the system provides unique
- 17 educational opportunities; Texas Tech University is a major
- 18 comprehensive research university, led by Dr. Guy Bailey; enrolling
- 19 more than 28,000 students in 12 colleges and schools, TTU offers
- 20 more than 150 undergraduate programs, 100 master's programs, and 60
- 21 doctoral programs, and it is among a select group of institutions to
- 22 shelter a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa; and
- 23 WHEREAS, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center is
- 24 composed of the TTUHSC School of Medicine, the School of Allied

H.C.R. No. 48

- 1 Health Sciences, the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, the
- 2 Anita Thigpen Perry School of Nursing, the School of Pharmacy, and
- 3 the new Paul L. Foster School of Medicine in El Paso, which will
- 4 seat its first class in July 2009; overseen by Dr. John C. Baldwin,
- 5 TTUHSC enrolls nearly 3,000 students and boasts more than 11,000
- 6 alumni; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Founded in 1928, Angelo State University enrolls
- 8 more than 6,000 students in six colleges and is directed by Dr.
- 9 Joseph C. Rallo; ASU was the first university in the state to offer
- 10 a degree in computer science and today is home to one of two State of
- 11 Texas Data Centers; in addition, the institution's physics
- 12 department has been designated by Physics Today as one of the top
- 13 undergraduate programs in the nation; and
- 14 WHEREAS, The Texas Tech University System has provided
- 15 countless students with an outstanding education and a strong
- 16 foundation for the future, and in so doing, it has contributed to
- 17 the remarkable achievements of the state as a whole; now,
- 18 therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the 81st Legislature of the State of Texas
- 20 hereby recognize February 17, 2009, as Texas Tech University System
- 21 Day at the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to all those from
- 22 the TTU System who are visiting here today.

Isett Darby Heflin Keffer Moody Craddick Fletcher Jones Lewis Swinford

H.C.R. No. 48

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Martinez Fletcher Vo

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

H.C.R. No. 48
Speaker of the House
48 was adopted by the House on vote.
Chief Clerk of the House
48 was adopted by the Senate on ote.
Secretary of the Senate