H.C.R. No. 59

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Lieutenant Colonel David McEathron retired from the
- 2 Texas Department of Public Safety on August 31, 2008, drawing to a
- 3 close a notable career in law enforcement that spanned more than
- 4 three decades; and
- 5 WHEREAS, A veteran of the U.S. Coast Guard, Colonel McEathron
- 6 received his bachelor's degree in criminal justice from Southwest
- 7 Texas State University; he is also a graduate of the police
- 8 administrative training program at the Traffic Institute of
- 9 Northwestern University; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Embarking on his law enforcement career in 1975 as a
- 11 city police officer, Colonel McEathron joined DPS two years later
- 12 as a state trooper in Rio Grande City; advancing to the rank of
- 13 major in the highway patrol division, he was then appointed
- 14 assistant chief and, subsequently, chief of the traffic law
- 15 enforcement division, where he served for 23 years; and
- WHEREAS, On March 1, 2000, Colonel McEathron became assistant
- 17 director of DPS, and his commitment to protecting the lives,
- 18 properties, rights, and privileges of his fellow Texans has greatly
- 19 benefited the state; and
- WHEREAS, Throughout his career, in every post he has held,
- 21 this exemplary law enforcement professional has earned the respect
- 22 and admiration of his colleagues, and he may indeed reflect with
- 23 pride on a career well spent as he embarks on the next exciting
- 24 chapter of his life; now, therefore, be it

H.C.R. No. 59

- 1 RESOLVED, That the 81st Legislature of the State of Texas
- 2 hereby congratulate Lieutenant Colonel David McEathron on his
- 3 retirement as assistant director of the Texas Department of Public
- 4 Safety and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success
- 5 and happiness; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Lieutenant Colonel McEathron as an expression of high
- 8 regard by the Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

Driver

H.C.R. No. 59

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Martinez Fletcher Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

		_		
Н	C	R	$N \cap$	59

	H.C.R. No. 59
President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No. 4, 2009, by a non-record vote.	. 59 was adopted by the House on March
	Chief Clerk of the House
I certify that H.C.R. March 4, 2009, by a viva-voce v	No. 59 was adopted by the Senate on vote.
APPROVED:	Secretary of the Senate
Date	
Governor	