H.C.R. No. 78

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Public-spirited citizens of Kilgore are gathering
- 2 in Austin on March 2 and 3, 2009, to celebrate Kilgore Days at the
- 3 State Capitol; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Present in the chamber on this occasion are
- 5 community leaders Mr. and Mrs. Sammy York, Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth
- 6 Plunk, Mr. and Mrs. Bobby Hale, Mr. and Mrs. Mike Coston, Theresa
- 7 Ferguson, Tammy Ritter, B. J. Owens, Amanda Nobles, Barbara
- 8 Garrett, Mr. and Mrs. Kent Bryson, Gerey Dillinger, Gene Keenon,
- 9 Dr. Charles Whiteside, Jeff Howell, Randy Brogoitti, Mr. and Mrs.
- 10 Harvey McClendon, and Mr. and Mrs. Rodney Bell; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Set among the lush pinewoods of East Texas, Kilgore
- 12 was founded in 1872 along the International-Great Northern Railroad
- 13 and named after community leader Constantine Buckley "Buck"
- 14 Kilgore, a state senator and Confederate veteran; and
- WHEREAS, Initially the town developed as a center for cotton
- 16 farming, and it thrived until the onset of the Great Depression,
- 17 when its population abruptly fell by half; the discovery of oil in
- 18 1930, however, turned the hard-pressed community into a lively
- 19 boomtown; within six years, Kilgore's population swelled from 500
- 20 to 12,000; at the peak of the boom, there were 1,100 oil wells
- 21 within the city limits; one downtown block, known as the "World's
- 22 Richest Acre," held the greatest concentration of oil derricks in
- 23 the world at the time; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Today Kilgore is an important center for both the

H.C.R. No. 78

- 1 oil and high-tech industries, with such major employers as
- 2 Halliburton Energy Services, General Dynamics SATCOM Technologies,
- 3 Skeeter Products, and Exterran having a presence in the city; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Kilgore College is the educational and cultural hub
- 5 of the area; home to the Texas Shakespeare Festival and the famous
- 6 Kilgore Rangerettes, reputed to be the world's first women's
- 7 precision drill team, the campus is also host to the East Texas Oil
- 8 Museum, where the history of the oil boom of the 1930s is colorfully
- 9 re-created through exhibits and dioramas; another notable
- 10 attraction is the exciting new baseball franchise, the East Texas
- 11 Pump Jacks of the Texas Collegiate League, which played its
- 12 inaugural season in 2008; and
- WHEREAS, The community has honored its colorful past with the
- 14 placement of 60 replica oil derricks throughout the town; each
- 15 holiday season, the derricks are decorated with Christmas lights
- 16 and stars, helping Kilgore to earn the title "City of Stars"; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Celebrating their rich history as they prepare to
- 18 meet the opportunities that lie ahead, the citizens of Kilgore are
- 19 justifiably proud of their community, and it is a privilege to honor
- 20 their contribution to the story of the Lone Star State; now,
- 21 therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the 81st Legislature of the State of Texas
- 23 hereby declare March 2 and 3, 2009, as Kilgore Days at the State
- 24 Capitol and extend best wishes to the visiting delegation for an
- 25 enjoyable and memorable stay in Austin.

Merritt

H.C.R. No. 78

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

	H.C.R. No. 78
President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No.	78 was adopted by the House on March
3, 2009, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No.	78 was adopted by the Senate on June
1, 2009, by a viva-voce vote.	
	Secretary of the Senate
APPROVED:	
Date	
Governor	