H.C.R. No. 81

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The African Americans who served in the Texas
- 2 Legislature between 1868 and 1900 and in the Constitutional
- 3 Conventions of 1868-1869 and 1875 represent a significant part of
- 4 the state's history, and it is vital that we honor their important
- 5 legacy; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Following emancipation in June 1865, Black Codes
- 7 were passed by several cities in Texas to restrict the rights of
- 8 African Americans; it was not until 1867, with the intervention of
- 9 Congress and the U.S. military, that African Americans began the
- 10 transition to freedom in earnest; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Numerous African American men went on to become
- 12 Reconstruction leaders and important members of the Republican
- 13 Party; African American delegates to the Constitutional Convention
- 14 of 1868-1869 included Stephen Curtis, Wiley W. Johnson, Ralph Long,
- 15 James McWashington, and Benjamin O. Watrous, and these individuals
- 16 played an active role in committees and in presenting significant
- 17 resolutions; the Constitutional Convention of 1875, organized by
- 18 the Democrats to undo the Constitution of 1869, had fewer African
- 19 American delegates but still involved Bird Davis, Melvin Goddin,
- 20 Lloyd Henry McCabe, and William Reynolds, among others; and
- 21 WHEREAS, George Thompson Ruby, a leading delegate to the
- 22 Constitutional Convention of 1868-1869, went on to become one of
- 23 the most influential senators in the 12th and 13th Legislatures;
- 24 Matthew Gaines and Walter E. Ripton also served as senators during

- H.C.R. No. 81
- 1 the 1870s, and Senator Walter Moses Burton represented parts of
- 2 Southeast Texas for nearly a decade; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Many other African American men were elected as
- 4 state representatives; among them were David Abner, Sr., Richard
- 5 Allen, Edward Anderson, Alexander Asberry, Houston A. P. Bassett,
- 6 Thomas Beck, Edward Brown, D. W. Burley, Silas Cotton, Goldstein
- 7 Dupree, Robert J. Evans, Jacob E. Freeman, Harriel G. Geiger,
- 8 Bedford A. Guy, Nathan H. Haller, Jeremiah J. Hamilton, William H.
- 9 Holland, Mitchell Kendall, Robert A. Kerr, Doc C. Lewis, Elias
- 10 Mayes, David Medlock, John Mitchell, Henry Moore, Robert J. Moore,
- 11 Sheppard Mullens, Edward Patton, Henry Phelps, Meshack R. Roberts,
- 12 Alonzo Sledge, Robert Lloyd Smith, Henry Sneed, James H. Stewart,
- 13 James H. Washington, Allen W. Wilder, Benjamin Franklin Williams,
- 14 Richard Williams, and George W. Wyatt; and
- WHEREAS, These dedicated public servants made great strides
- 16 in education for African Americans, and they advocated tirelessly
- 17 for civil rights; by the late 1870s, however, their gains in the
- 18 political arena were threatened by a new wave of racial
- 19 intolerance; the 25th Legislature in 1897 would be the last that
- 20 included an African American member for seven decades; and
- 21 WHEREAS, A framed composite in honor of the state's early
- 22 African American political leaders hangs in the Capitol South
- 23 Lobby, but the photographs of several individuals are missing, and
- 24 thus our tribute to them remains incomplete; now, therefore, be it
- 25 RESOLVED, That the 81st Legislature of the State of Texas
- 26 hereby direct the State Preservation Board to initiate an effort to
- 27 obtain missing photographs of early African American political

H.C.R. No. 81

- 1 leaders who are honored in a composite in the Capitol South Lobby;
- 2 and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That the State Preservation Board be directed to
- 4 ensure that the composite is included on Capitol tours; and, be it
- 5 further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 forwarded to the executive director of the State Preservation Board
- 8 as an expression of the sentiment of the Texas Legislature.

Dutton
Thompson
Edwards
McClendon
Turner of Harris

	\sim	_	3.7	\sim 1
н	('	R	NΩ	2

	H.C.R. NO. 81
President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
-	. 81 was adopted by the House on April
22, 2009, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No 27, 2009, by a viva-voce vote.	. 81 was adopted by the Senate on May
	Secretary of the Senate
APPROVED:	
Date	
Governor	