1-1 By: Dutton (Senate Sponsor - Uresti) H.C.R. No. 81
1-2 (In the Senate - Received from the House April 22, 2009;
1-3 May 1, 2009, read first time and referred to Committee on
1-4 Administration; May 22, 2009, reported favorably by the following
1-5 vote: Yeas 4, Nays 0; May 22, 2009, sent to printer.)

1-6

1 - 7

1-8

1-9 1-10 1-11

1-12

1-13 1-14

1**-**15 1**-**16

1-17

1-18

1-19

1-20 1-21

1-22

1**-**23 1**-**24

1-25 1-26 1-27

1**-**28 1**-**29

1-30 1-31 1-32

1-33

1-34 1-35 1-36

1-37 1-38

1-39 1-40 1-41 1-42

1-43

1-44 1-45

1-46

1-47 1-48 1-49 1-50

1**-**51 1**-**52

1**-**53 1**-**54

1**-**55 1**-**56

1-57 1-58 1-59

1-60

1-61

1-62

1-63

1-64

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The African Americans who served in the Texas Legislature between 1868 and 1900 and in the Constitutional Conventions of 1868-1869 and 1875 represent a significant part of the state's history, and it is vital that we honor their important legacy; and

WHEREAS, Following emancipation in June 1865, Black Codes were passed by several cities in Texas to restrict the rights of African Americans; it was not until 1867, with the intervention of Congress and the U.S. military, that African Americans began the transition to freedom in earnest; and

WHEREAS, Numerous African American men went on to become Reconstruction leaders and important members of the Republican Party; African American delegates to the Constitutional Convention of 1868-1869 included Stephen Curtis, Wiley W. Johnson, Ralph Long, James McWashington, and Benjamin O. Watrous, and these individuals played an active role in committees and in presenting significant resolutions; the Constitutional Convention of 1875, organized by the Democrats to undo the Constitution of 1869, had fewer African American delegates but still involved Bird Davis, Melvin Goddin, Lloyd Henry McCabe, and William Reynolds, among others; and

WHEREAS, George Thompson Ruby, a leading delegate to the Constitutional Convention of 1868-1869, went on to become one of the most influential senators in the 12th and 13th Legislatures; Matthew Gaines and Walter E. Ripton also served as senators during the 1870s, and Senator Walter Moses Burton represented parts of Southeast Texas for nearly a decade; and

WHEREAS, Many other African American men were elected as state representatives; among them were David Abner, Sr., Richard Allen, Edward Anderson, Alexander Asberry, Houston A. P. Bassett, Thomas Beck, Edward Brown, D. W. Burley, Silas Cotton, Goldstein Dupree, Robert J. Evans, Jacob E. Freeman, Harriel G. Geiger, Bedford A. Guy, Nathan H. Haller, Jeremiah J. Hamilton, William H. Holland, Mitchell Kendall, Robert A. Kerr, Doc C. Lewis, Elias Mayes, David Medlock, John Mitchell, Henry Moore, Robert J. Moore, Sheppard Mullens, Edward Patton, Henry Phelps, Meshack R. Roberts, Alonzo Sledge, Robert Lloyd Smith, Henry Sneed, James H. Stewart, James H. Washington, Allen W. Wilder, Benjamin Franklin Williams, Richard Williams, and George W. Wyatt; and

WHEREAS, These dedicated public servants made great strides in education for African Americans, and they advocated tirelessly for civil rights; by the late 1870s, however, their gains in the political arena were threatened by a new wave of racial intolerance; the 25th Legislature in 1897 would be the last that included an African American member for seven decades; and

WHEREAS, A framed composite in honor of the state's early African American political leaders hangs in the Capitol South Lobby, but the photographs of several individuals are missing, and thus our tribute to them remains incomplete; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the 81st Legislature of the State of Texas hereby direct the State Preservation Board to initiate an effort to obtain missing photographs of early African American political leaders who are honored in a composite in the Capitol South Lobby; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the State Preservation Board be directed to ensure that the composite is included on Capitol tours; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be forwarded to the executive director of the State Preservation Board

H.C.R. No. 81 2-1 as an expression of the sentiment of the Texas Legislature.

* * * * * 2-2