By: Homer

H.C.R. No. 84

## CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Sulphur Springs High School Wildcats football
team captured the 2008 University Interscholastic League 4A
Division 2 state championship on December 20, 2008; and

WHEREAS, In a record-breaking performance, the Wildcats defeated the Broncos of Dayton High School by a 20-point margin, 69-49, and became the highest scoring 11-man team in the history of 7 Texas state title games; the Wildcats tallied 10 touchdowns and 8 racked up an unprecedented 859 yards of total offense during the 9 game; and

WHEREAS, Throughout this extraordinary season, head coach Greg Owens provided exceptional guidance and inspiration to the Sulphur Springs team, which was the first football squad from the school to play for the state championship; moreover, Wildcat athletes Tyrik Rollison, Jace Jackson, and Ryan Young set numerous team records in the course of the 2008 campaign, raising the bar for future Sulphur Springs players; and

WHEREAS, Winning a state championship represents the culmination of countless hours of hard work and dedication, and the student-athletes of the Sulphur Springs High School football team will treasure the memory of this accomplishment for many years to come; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the 81st Legislature of the State of Texas hereby congratulate the Sulphur Springs Wildcats on winning the 24 2008 UIL 4A Division 2 state football championship and extend to the

1

1 players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for continued 2 success; and, be it further

H.C.R. No. 84

3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 4 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 5 House of Representatives and Senate.