H.C.R. No. 87

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud citizens of Brazoria County are gathering in
- 2 Austin to celebrate Brazoria County Day at the State Capitol on
- 3 March 10, 2009; and
- 4 WHEREAS, This section of coastal prairie along the Brazos
- 5 River was inhabited during the first three centuries of Texas'
- 6 recorded history by the nomadic Karankawa Indians; the Spanish
- 7 explorer Cabeza de Vaca passed through the region as early as 1528,
- 8 and the pirate Jean Lafitte was rumored to have used the mouth of
- 9 the Brazos as a refuge; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The region was settled in the 1820s by members of
- 11 Stephen F. Austin's Old Three Hundred; Henry Smith of Brazoria
- 12 served as the first American governor of Texas and as a leader of
- 13 the movement for independence, and the town of Columbia served as
- 14 the capital of Texas during the first Texas Congress; in 1836,
- 15 Brazoria County became one of the original counties established by
- 16 the new republic; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Farming and ranching initially constituted the
- 18 mainstays of the county's economy; the discovery of oil and sulfur
- 19 deposits in the early 20th century helped the region grow, and
- 20 chemical processing became increasingly important during World War
- 21 II and after; commercial fishing and the recreation industry have
- 22 helped to ensure continuing economic development; and
- 23 WHEREAS, Today, the eight cities of the Brazosport
- 24 area--Clute, Freeport, Jones Creek, Lake Jackson, Oyster Creek,

H.C.R. No. 87

- 1 Quintana, Richwood, and Surfside Beach--boast excellent schools
- 2 and affordable housing; visitors and residents alike take great
- 3 pleasure in 27 miles of sandy beaches, bay and offshore fishing,
- 4 scuba diving, and outstanding birdwatching at the Brazoria and San
- 5 Bernard National Wildlife Refuges; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Angleton, the county seat, abounds with antique
- 7 shops and scenic parks and hosts the county fair, one of the largest
- 8 in Texas, every October and Christmas on the Square every December;
- 9 the town of Alvin is home to the Nolan Ryan Center, which celebrates
- 10 the career of its native son and Baseball Hall of Famer; moreover,
- 11 the nearby town of Pearland is a center for the chemical and oil
- 12 industries; and
- WHEREAS, The educational opportunities available to students
- 14 at Alvin Community College and Brazosport College further
- 15 contribute to the county's many amenities; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Even as they celebrate their rich heritage, the
- 17 hardworking citizens of Brazoria County are looking ahead to the
- 18 opportunities of the future and continuing to contribute greatly to
- 19 the growth and prosperity of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be
- 20 it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the 81st Legislature of the State of Texas
- 22 hereby declare March 10, 2009, Brazoria County Day at the State
- 23 Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation best wishes for a
- 24 memorable and meaningful stay in Austin.

Weber

H.C.R. No. 87

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

H	C	R	$N \cap$	87

	H.C.R. No. 87
President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No 10, 2009, by a non-record vote.	. 87 was adopted by the House on March
	Chief Clerk of the House
I certify that H.C.R. I March 17, 2009, by a viva-voce	No. 87 was adopted by the Senate on vote.
	Secretary of the Senate
APPROVED:	
Date	
Governor	