HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Gregg County Days are taking place at the State 2 Capitol on March 31 and April 1, 2009, and this occasion provides a welcome opportunity to pay tribute to this notable Texas county; 3 and 4 WHEREAS, Present in the chamber on this occasion are the 5 following Gregg County dignitaries: county judge Bill Stoudt, 6 Longview mayor Jay Dean, Longview city manager David Willard, 7 Longview Partnership president Kelly Hall, Gladewater mayor Walter 8 Derrick, former Gladewater mayor Jackie Wood, Gladewater city 9 councilman John Ussery, Gladewater city manager Jay Stokes, 10 11 Gladewater Economic Development Corporation executive director Lon 12 Welton, former White Oak mayor Tim Vaughn, Kilgore Economic Development Corporation executive director Amanda Nobles, Suzanne 13 14 Cook, Laura McKethan, Alfred Lacy, Steven Best, Bennie Corutt, Patty Bell, Keith Honey, Jim Kendrick, Darwin Winfield, Mike 15 Northcutt, Tony Cain, Gene Keenon, Melissa Harris, Laura Hill, 16 Sidney Allen, Shirley Hook, Sandra Holm, Jeremy DuMond, Ingrid 17 Johnson, Paul Anderson, Amy Tatum, Jack Miller, Vickie Echols, 18 Courtney Gill, Laura McCarter, Cathy Cace, Richard Lazurus, and 19 20 Richard Manley; and 21 WHEREAS, The lands that today make up Gregg County were once 22 inhabited by various Native American groups, including the Caddo 23 and the Cherokee; originally part of Upshur County, this area of the

Lone Star State was established as Gregg County on April 12, 1873,

24

- 1 and named for Confederate General John B. Gregg; the local
- 2 population grew quickly in the following decades, and by 1920,
- 3 nearly 17,000 people were living in the county; and
- WHEREAS, For more than a half-century after the county was
- 5 established, its economy continued to be based on farming, but when
- 6 oil was struck in the western part of the county in the early 1930s,
- 7 people flooded into the area, and the communities of Kilgore and
- 8 Gladewater became boom towns in the span of a few days; the energy
- 9 reserves of the East Texas Oil Field helped power the American war
- 10 effort in World War II, and petroleum resources have continued to
- 11 play a key role in the county's fortunes; in addition, a diverse
- 12 range of other commercial endeavors have been established,
- 13 including manufacturing, tourism, and lignite mining, and major
- 14 companies such as Eastman, LeTourneau Technologies, SITEL, and
- 15 Trinity Industries employ numerous residents; and
- WHEREAS, Longview, the county seat, is Gregg County's largest
- 17 city; it is home to LeTourneau University and boasts numerous
- 18 cultural attractions, including the Longview Museum of Fine Arts,
- 19 the Gregg County Historical Museum, and the R. G. LeTourneau
- 20 Museum; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Residents and visitors alike enjoy the county's
- 22 numerous special events; they include the Great Texas Balloon Race
- 23 in Longview, the annual Texas Shakespeare Festival in Kilgore, the
- 24 Roughneck Day Festival in White Oak, and East Texas Gusher Days in
- 25 Gladewater; and
- 26 WHEREAS, Throughout its history, Gregg County has been
- 27 blessed with abundant resources and innovative and industrious

- 1 citizens, and it has made significant contributions to the ongoing
- 2 prosperity of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the 81st Legislature of the State of Texas
- 4 hereby designate March 31 and April 1, 2009, as Gregg County Days at
- 5 the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation best wishes
- 6 for an enjoyable and informative stay in Austin.

Merritt

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Branch Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

					H	H.C.F	R. No.	135
President of the Senate	_	Speaker of the House						
I certify that H.C.R.	No.	135	was	adopted	l by	the	House	on
April 1, 2009, by a non-record	d vot	e.						
		_						
		Chief Clerk of the House						
I certify that H.C.R.	No.	135	was	adopted	by	the	Senate	on
April 1, 2009, by a viva-voce	vote							
		_						
			S	Secretar	y of	the	Senate	
APPROVED:								
Date								
Governor								