HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For 100 years, scientists at the Blackland Research 2 and Extension Center have worked to ensure a safe and affordable food supply, protect the environment, and invigorate the economy; 3 and 4 5 WHEREAS, The Blackland Experiment Station, Substation No. 5, was authorized by the Texas Legislature in 1909 to conduct research 6 7 on cotton root rot and a variety of other soil and crop problems; the Research and Extension Center today occupies a 542-acre site in 8 the south-central part of the Blackland Prairie region, on the 9 southeastern edge of Temple; it is one of 13 off-campus stations 10 11 affiliated with The Texas A&M University System as part of Texas 12 AgriLife Research, the state's premier research agency agriculture, natural resources, and the life sciences; and 13 14 WHEREAS, In 1931, the Blackland Research and Extension Center began soil and water research in cooperation with the USDA Soil 15 16 Conservation Service; its early projects also included hybrid corn breeding and research in cattle grazing and feeding; in recent 17 years, researchers have used weather data collected over many 18 decades to develop important guidelines for conservation and 19 improved crop performance, and studies of mechanization for major 20 21 crops, especially cotton, have provided information of great value to farmers and agricultural agencies; and 22 WHEREAS, The Blackland Research and Extension Center shares 23

research facilities with the Grassland, Soil, and Water Research

24

1 Laboratory of the USDA/Agricultural Research Service, and their scientists have cooperated closely for more than 80 years; 2 Blackland Research and Extension Center researchers collaborate extensively with their counterparts from the Natural 4 5 Resources Conservation Service and the Environmental Protection Agency; the large national Conservation Effects Assessment Program 6 to quantify the environmental benefits of USDA conservation efforts 7 8 is among the key projects made possible by these relationships; and 9 WHEREAS, Responding to the needs of Texas residents, the center is currently undertaking research related to healthy rivers 10 11 streams, rangeland drought monitoring and management, 12 agriculture and natural resource risk management, and other crucial issues; over the past century, the distinguished scientists and 13 dedicated staff of the Blackland Research and Extension Center have 14 15 been instrumental in improving land, water, and soil resources in Central Texas, and they continue to enhance our knowledge of 16 17 agriculture and the environment while developing new technologies that benefit countless people in our region and elsewhere; now, 18 19 therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the 81st Legislature of the State of Texas 20 hereby congratulate all those associated with the Blackland 21 Research and Extension Center on the occasion of its 100th 22 23 anniversary and extend to them best wishes for continued success in

their noteworthy endeavors; and, be it further

24

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for the Blackland Research and Extension Center as an
- 3 expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives and
- 4 Senate.

Sheffield

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Branch Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Hilderbran Callegari Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal

Martinez

McClendon

McReynolds

McCall

Martinez Fischer

Fletcher

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Vo

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

TT	\sim	D	NΤΩ	211
Н	('	R	NΩ	<i></i>

President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
_	. 211 was adopted by the House on May
12, 2009, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No. 12, 2009, by a viva-voce vote.	211 was adopted by the Senate on May
	Secretary of the Senate
APPROVED:	
Governor	
00 / 01 1101	