RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Dan Troxell, superintendent of the Kerrville
- 2 Independent School District, has been selected as the 2008
- 3 Superintendent of the Year by the Texas Association of School
- 4 Boards; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The TASB award recognizes chief administrators who
- 6 exemplify excellence and achievement in educational leadership; in
- 7 making its choice for 2008, the state selection committee praised
- 8 Dr. Troxell for extending the enrollment of prekindergarten classes
- 9 to include three-year-olds, emphasizing science and math
- 10 instruction, and involving local retirees in education efforts;
- 11 moreover, committee members cited his success in promoting student
- 12 mentoring and in using community college educators from other areas
- 13 as class instructors; and
- 14 WHEREAS, After graduating from The University of Texas at
- 15 Austin, Dr. Troxell went on to earn his master's degree in education
- 16 from Texas State University-San Marcos and his Ph.D. from
- 17 UT-Austin; a former middle-school teacher, he has 18 years of
- 18 experience in administration and served as an assistant
- 19 superintendent in the Cypress-Fairbanks Independent School
- 20 District before joining Kerrville ISD as superintendent in 2003; in
- 21 addition, he has taught as an adjunct professor at Schreiner
- 22 University and the University of Houston and as a part-time
- 23 professor at Sam Houston State University; and
- 24 WHEREAS, During Dr. Troxell's tenure at Kerrville ISD,

- 1 students, faculty, and campuses in the district have received numerous honors; Fred H. Tally Elementary School was the only 2 elementary school in Texas to be named a 2007 National Title I 3 Distinguished School, and Tivy High School has been named a Region 4 5 20 Outstanding High School in math and science; moreover, the Texas Education Agency has accorded the Kerrville school system its 6 highest financial rating for six consecutive years; the district's 7 8 sound economic footing has allowed it to offer teachers some of the highest salaries in the Hill Country and to challenge students with 9 10 such diverse courses and activities as the orchestra program, the elementary Spanish program, and Challenge Labs for high achievers; 11 12 in addition, Dr. Troxell himself was recognized with the 2006 Advocate of the Gifted award from the Texas Association for the 13
- 14 Gifted and Talented; and 15 WHEREAS, This esteemed professional founded the Greater Hill Country-San Antonio Consortium of Districts and gives generously of 16 17 his time and expertise to a number of organizations, among them the TASB Risk Management Committee and the Texas Association of School 18 Administrators Legislative Committee; he further contributes to 19 the community as a youth sports coach and as a member of the 20 21 Kerrville Area Chamber of Commerce board; and
- WHEREAS, A skilled educator and outstanding administrator,
 Dan Troxell has worked tirelessly to set the highest educational
 standards in the Kerrville Independent School District, and the
 exceptional reputation of the city's public schools is indeed a
 tribute to his leadership; now, therefore, be it
- 27 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Dan Troxell on his selection as the
- 2 2008 Superintendent of the Year by the Texas Association of School
- 3 Boards and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success;
- 4 and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Dr. Troxell as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Hilderbran

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Gonzales Miller of Comal Alvarado Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Kleinschmidt Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 12 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House