RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The family and friends of James Sparks, Jr., of
- 2 Beaumont were greatly saddened by his passing on March 8, 2008, at
- 3 the age of 66; and
- WHEREAS, Born on March 23, 1941, to James William Sparks,
- 5 Sr., and Vurla Carpenter Sparks, Jimmy Sparks graduated from South
- 6 Park High School and proceeded to earn degrees from Lamar
- 7 University and Baylor University; and
- 8 WHEREAS, After a 40-year career practicing law in his
- 9 hometown, Mr. Sparks had recently spent five years living in
- 10 Fredericksburg, fulfilling his long-held desire to reside in the
- 11 Texas Hill Country; he was a member of Westgate Church of Christ;
- 12 and
- WHEREAS, Although he is deeply missed, those who treasured
- 14 this caring and thoughtful man will forever remember with great
- 15 affection his zest for life and wonderful sense of humor; now,
- 16 therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of James Sparks, Jr., and
- 19 extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife,
- 20 Martha Dougharty Sparks; to his sons, Mark Sparks and James Sparks
- 21 III and his wife, Nancy; to his niece, Dana Work, and her husband,
- 22 Scott; to his great-nephews, David and Ethan Work; and to his other
- 23 relatives and friends; and, be it further
- 24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

- 1 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 2 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of James
- 3 Sparks, Jr.

Hilderbran

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Miklos Alonzo Giddings Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Hilderbran Callegari Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 17 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on February 26, 2009.

Chief Clerk of the House