## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Residents of Mason County, an area noted for its
- 2 colorful history and scenic beauty, celebrated the 150th
- 3 anniversary of the establishment of their county in 2008; and
- 4 WHEREAS, This pastoral corner of the Texas Hill Country was
- 5 originally a hunting ground for the Lipan Apache and Comanche
- 6 peoples; in the 1840s, German colonists from Fredericksburg and New
- 7 Braunfels began to settle the region; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Fort Mason was established in 1851 to protect the
- 9 new settlers from Indian attacks; on the eve of the Civil War,
- 10 Robert E. Lee, then a colonel commanding the 2nd Cavalry Regiment,
- 11 made his headquarters at Fort Mason; it was his last command under
- 12 the United States flag before he resigned to join the Confederate
- 13 Army; and
- WHEREAS, Mason County was created by the Texas Legislature on
- 15 January 22, 1858, and three years later the town of Mason, adjacent
- 16 to the fort, was chosen as the county seat; cattle ranching quickly
- 17 became the foundation of the county's economy; disputes over
- 18 rustling, as well as ethnic tensions, led to a feud known as the
- 19 Mason County War that lasted from 1875 to 1877; and
- WHEREAS, While ranching continues to thrive in Mason County,
- 21 the area's popularity as a hunting and fishing destination has
- 22 added another dimension to the local economy; visitors can also
- 23 witness the flight of millions of Mexican free-tailed bats from the
- 24 Eckert James River Cave on summer evenings or explore the charming

H.R. No. 24

- 1 county seat; in addition to its architecture, shops, galleries, and
- 2 restaurants, the town of Mason boasts a prominent literary
- 3 association as the home of Fred Gipson, who wrote the book Old
- 4 Yeller; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The citizens of Mason County are justifiably proud
- 6 of their rich heritage, and it is a privilege to recognize this
- 7 significant milestone in the history of this unique area of the Lone
- 8 Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby commemorate the 150th anniversary of the
- 11 founding of Mason County.

Hilderbran

## H.R. No. 24

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Paxton Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton Davis of Harris King of Parker Smith of Tarrant King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Martinez Fletcher Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

H.R. No. 24

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 24 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House