H.R. No. 27

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The year 2008 marked the 50th anniversary of the
 founding of the Sonora Chamber of Commerce; and

3 WHEREAS, This vital organization dates back to October 1958, when several interested Sonora residents convened to discuss the 4 5 possibility of establishing a local chamber; they agreed unanimously that such a group would benefit the city 6 and subsequently elected the chamber's first board of directors; the 7 meeting also resulted in 66 signed membership cards and some \$600 8 9 pledged in monthly dues; and

10 WHEREAS, Today, the chamber boasts more than 200 business 11 memberships and is an integral part of the community; in addition to 12 promoting local businesses, it organizes civic activities and 13 festivals and works to attract tourism to the area; and

14 WHEREAS, Dedicated to fostering economic growth, the Sonora 15 Chamber of Commerce has contributed significantly to the city's 16 development, and it is a pleasure to commend its members, both past 17 and present, for their vision, leadership, and commitment; now, 18 therefore, be it

19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 20 Legislature hereby commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Sonora 21 Chamber of Commerce and extend to all those affiliated with the 22 organization sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it 23 further

24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

1

H.R. No. 27
1 prepared for the Sonora Chamber of Commerce as an expression of high
2 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Hilderbran

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

## H.R. No. 27

H.R. No. 27

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 27 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House