## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The state of Texas lost a distinguished businessman 2 and leader with the passing of Paul Derald Meek of Fredericksburg on 3 June 15, 2007, at the age of 76; and WHEREAS, Born in McAllen to Valley pioneers William Van Meek 4 5 and Martha Mary Sharp Meek on August 15, 1930, Paul Meek earned a bachelor's degree in chemical engineering from The University of 6 7 Texas at Austin; he began a noteworthy career in the petrochemical industry with Humble Oil and Refining Company in Baytown and went on 8 to work for Cosden Oil and Chemical Company in Big Spring; after 9 serving as president of Cosden and as a member of the board of 10 11 directors of its parent company, FINA, he moved to Dallas in 1976 to 12 assume the posts of chief operating officer and president of FINA; he later served as its chief executive officer and chairman of the 13 14 board before retiring to his Hill Country ranch in 1996; and WHEREAS, In 1989, Governor Bill Clements appointed Mr. Meek 15 to the Public Utility Commission, which he chaired until 1992; 16 moreover, he served as chair of the Engineering Foundation Advisory 17 Council at UT Austin, as director of the Admiral Nimitz Foundation, 18 and as a member of the M. D. Anderson Cancer Center Board of 19 Visitors, the UT Longhorn Foundation, the UT Chancellor's Council, 20 and the UT McDonald Observatory Board of Visitors; named a 21 Distinguished Engineering Graduate by his alma mater, he also 22 23 sought to encourage high school students to pursue careers in science, engineering, and math as an advisor and benefactor of 24

- 1 IGNITE, an educational nonprofit with those aims; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Meek shared 40 years of marriage with Betty
- 3 Robertson Meek, and the couple were blessed with four daughters,
- 4 Paula, Katheryn, Carol Ann, and Linda; following the death of his
- 5 first wife, he was fortunate enough to find love a second time with
- 6 Sue Etchison Meek, and they enjoyed a rewarding nine-year union;
- 7 and
- 8 WHEREAS, Through his expertise, dedication, and guidance,
- 9 Paul Meek contributed tremendously to the Lone Star State, and he
- 10 leaves behind a legacy that will continue to resonate for any years
- 11 to come; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 13 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Paul Derald Meek and
- 14 extend deepest sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife,
- 15 Sue Etchison Meek; to his daughters, Paula Burford and her husband,
- 16 Scott, Katheryn Hasemann and her husband, Charles, Carol Ann Miller
- 17 and her husband, Rusty, and Linda Meek; to his grandchildren, Mary
- 18 Catherine and Charlie Burford, Margaret and Andy Hasemann, Natalie,
- 19 Paul, and Michelle Miller, Robert and Mary Catherine Russo, and
- 20 Samantha and Forrest Poorman; to his stepdaughters, Tracy Russo and
- 21 her husband, Bobby, and Christy Garrison and her husband, Kenny;
- 22 and to his other relatives and friends; and, be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 25 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Paul Derald
- 26 Meek.

Hilderbran

## H.R. No. 31

Gattis Menendez Straus Geren Allen Merritt Alonzo Giddings Miklos Alvarado Miller of Comal Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Anchia Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Morrison Aycock Berman Hamilton Naishtat Bohac Hancock Oliveira Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Harper-Brown Branch Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Hernandez Burnam Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Peña Hochberg Castro Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Hopson Pitts Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cohen Quintanilla Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Crabb Isett Ritter Jackson Craddick Rodriguez Creighton Jones Rose Sheffield Keffer Crownover Kent Shelton Darby Davis of Harris King of Parker Smith of Tarrant King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Davis of Dallas Smith of Harris Deshotel Smithee Driver Solomons Dukes Kolkhorst Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Dutton Laubenberg Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Turner of Tarrant Elkins Lucio III Madden Turner of Harris England Farabee Maldonado Vaught Veasey Farias Mallory Caraway Marquez Villarreal Farrar Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores Flynn McCall Weber

Woolley

McClendon

McReynolds

Frost Gallego

Н	R	$N \cap$	2.1

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 31 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on February 26, 2009.

Chief Clerk of the House