RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Residents of Coleman County celebrated the
- 2 sesquicentennial of the establishment of their county throughout
- 3 2008; and
- WHEREAS, Situated in west central Texas, Coleman County
- 5 traces its origins to 1856, when the U.S. Army built Camp Colorado;
- 6 the frontier garrison served as the first county seat for Coleman
- 7 County, which was formed on February 1, 1858, and named after Robert
- 8 M. Coleman, a signer of the Texas Declaration of Independence and an
- 9 aide-de-camp to General Sam Houston at the Battle of San Jacinto;
- 10 and
- 11 WHEREAS, Prominent citizens organized a county government in
- 12 1875 and the next year chose a more central site for the county
- 13 seat, located close to the bustling commerce of the Western Trail;
- 14 the survey of the new town of Coleman was barely complete before
- 15 doctors, lawyers, merchants, ranchers, and others were clamoring to
- 16 buy lots; agriculture flourished after 1900, though the county
- 17 later struggled with drought, and the city of Coleman was forced to
- 18 import water; natural gas and oil were discovered before 1920, and
- 19 the industries grew, while farming was hit hard by the Great
- 20 Depression; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Coleman County's economy today includes limestone,
- 22 high-grade glass sand, and the manufacturing of products ranging
- 23 from saddles to recreational vehicles; moreover, agribusiness,
- 24 oil, natural gas, and ranching remain important, and Coleman ranks

H.R. No. 35

- 1 as the fourth-largest wool-producing county in Texas; tourism
- 2 thrives in the region as well, with hunters drawn to the area by
- 3 bountiful deer, turkey, ducks, quail, and dove; six major lakes
- 4 provide excellent fishing and recreation; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Visitors to Coleman County further enjoy exploring
- 6 the ruins of Camp Colorado, the ghost town of Trickham, and a
- 7 pioneer cabin museum at the foot of Santa Anna Mountain; numerous
- 8 markers commemorate a fascinating history that includes one of the
- 9 first female sheriffs in the United States, Emma Susan Daugherty
- 10 Banister, who was appointed to complete her husband's term on his
- 11 death in August 1918; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Popular annual events include a PRCA rodeo, one of
- 13 the nation's largest county livestock shows, Santa Anna Funtier
- 14 Days, and the Fiesta de la Paloma and dove cook-off; the county
- 15 began observance of its 150th anniversary on February 1, 2008, when
- 16 the post office issued a commemorative cancellation stamp; and
- WHEREAS, In honoring Coleman County's first 150 years,
- 18 citizens pay tribute to the exceptional Texans who came before them
- 19 and share their pride in a home that offers natural beauty and a
- 20 neighborly spirit; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby commemorate the sesquicentennial of Coleman
- 23 County and extend to its residents best wishes for the future.

Hilderbran

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Dutton Taylor

Laubenberg Legler Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Eissler Lewis Elkins Lucio III England Madden Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Farias Farrar Marquez Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Flores McCall Flynn Frost

Gallego

Martinez Vo
Martinez Fischer Walle
McCall Weber
McClendon Woolley
McReynolds Zerwas

Thibaut

Truitt

Vaught

Veasey

Villarreal

Thompson

Turner of Tarrant

Turner of Harris

H.R. No. 35

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 35 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House