H.R. No. 38

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Residents of Kimble County celebrated the
sesquicentennial of the founding of their county in 2008; and

3 WHEREAS, The rugged, rolling plains of this scenic region of 4 live oak, mesquite, and sedge grasses were once inhabited by the 5 Comanche, Kiowa, and Apache peoples; several Spanish expeditions 6 passed through during the 1700s, and the first non-Native American 7 settlers arrived in the late 1850s; and

8 WHEREAS, Kimble County was established on January 22, 1858, 9 and was named for George Chester Kimble, a hero of the Alamo; the 10 town of Junction, at the confluence of the north and south branches 11 of the Llano River, eventually became the county seat; and

WHEREAS, In its early years, the county was an untamed and often dangerous place, susceptible to attacks by Comanche, Kickapoo, and Lipan Apache raiding parties; its rocky hills and cedar brakes were also a haven for such outlaws as Rube Boyce, the Dublin Gang, and John P. Ringo; and

WHEREAS, Peace came to Kimble County through the work of the Texas Rangers and the United States Cavalry, and the county steadily grew and prospered; the raising of cattle and sheep became the mainstay of the area economy, and as early as the 1920s, tourists began to journey to the county for its fine hunting and fishing; and

23 WHEREAS, Kimble County has been the home of such notable 24 Texans as Governor Coke R. Stevenson, the first man to hold the

1

1 state's three highest offices, and O. C. Fisher, who served Texas as 2 a United States congressman for 32 years; and

3 WHEREAS, Today, Kimble County remains an important center for 4 ranching, with cattle, goats, and sheep as the principal livestock; 5 residents and visitors alike enjoy the many recreational 6 opportunities offered by this "land of living waters," including 7 fishing, canoeing, hunting, hiking, and birding; and

8 WHEREAS, Embracing their rich and colorful past as they look 9 to a bright future, the citizens of Kimble County may take 10 justifiable pride in celebrating their heritage and recognizing 11 this significant milestone; now, therefore, be it

12 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 13 Legislature hereby commemorate the sesquicentennial of the 14 founding of Kimble County.

Hilderbran

H.R. No. 38

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 38

H.R. No. 38

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 38 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House