H.R. No. 54

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Dr. Zachary R. Hodges, the president of Houston
- 2 Community College-Northwest, celebrated his 61st birthday on
- 3 August 24, 2008; and
- WHEREAS, Born in 1947, in Durant, Oklahoma, to Hugh and Mary
- 5 Jane Hodges, Zach Hodges soon moved with his parents to Garland,
- 6 where his father owned a sporting goods store; and
- 7 WHEREAS, The first person in his family to finish college,
- 8 Dr. Hodges earned a bachelor's degree in history and a master's
- 9 degree and a doctorate in counseling, all from Texas A&M
- 10 University-Commerce; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Dr. Hodges has been a leader in the field of higher
- 12 education for 36 years, with 32 of those years of service in the
- 13 Houston Community College System; the president of HCC-Northwest
- 14 since 1995, he was named an American Council on Education Fellow in
- 15 1992 and served as chair of the Council of Fellows from 1999 to
- 16 2000; and
- 17 WHEREAS, This exemplary educator's professional achievements
- 18 also include his graduation from the American Association of
- 19 Community Colleges President's Academy and the League for
- 20 Innovation Executive Leadership Institute; a participant in
- 21 Leadership Houston and the American Leadership Forum, he has been a
- 22 member of the statewide committee "Visioning for the 21st Century"
- 23 for the Texas A&M University College of Agriculture as well as the
- 24 Commission for Leadership and Instructional Effectiveness for the

- 1 American Council on Education; and
- WHEREAS, Despite his busy professional life, Dr. Hodges has
- 3 found time to give back to his community, serving on boards for the
- 4 United Way, Katy Medical Center, Altharetta Yeargin Art Museum,
- 5 Houston West Chamber of Commerce, West Houston Medical Center, and
- 6 Katy and Spring Branch school districts; moreover, he has served as
- 7 chair of the Mustang District of the Boy Scouts of America; his
- 8 leadership and generosity have been recognized with the Citizen of
- 9 the Year Award from the Katy Area Chamber of Commerce in 2005 and
- 10 with the Pinnacle Award from the Houston West Chamber of Commerce in
- 11 2006; and
- 12 WHEREAS, A devoted husband to his wife, Ana, and a loving
- 13 father to their daughters, Krissie and Emily, Zach Hodges is an
- 14 exemplary educator and a leader in his community whose dedication,
- 15 professionalism, and commitment to excellence have greatly
- 16 benefited his fellow Texans; now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. Zachary R. Hodges on the
- 19 occasion of his 61st birthday and extend to him best wishes for
- 20 continued happiness; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for Dr. Hodges as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 23 House of Representatives.

Callegari

## H.R. No. 54

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton Davis of Harris King of Parker Smith of Tarrant King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Martinez Fletcher Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

H.R. No. 54

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 54 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House