## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The chess team of The University of Texas at Dallas
- 2 won top honors at the President's Cup chess tournament in
- 3 Baltimore, Maryland, on April 6, 2008; and
- 4 WHEREAS, This prestigious competition is the chess
- 5 equivalent of the NCAA Final Four basketball tournament and brings
- 6 together the four top American teams as decided by the Pan American
- 7 Intercollegiate Chess Championships, the other major collegiate
- 8 chess competition; and
- 9 WHEREAS, A perennial powerhouse in the game, UT Dallas has
- 10 won the Pan American tournament for the past two years, and its
- 11 victory in the President's Cup was likewise its second consecutive
- 12 win and fourth win overall in that contest; no other college team
- 13 has ever garnered both titles for two years in a row; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Under the leadership of team coach Rade Milovanovic
- 15 and chess program director Jim Stallings, the victorious UT Dallas
- 16 squad was made up of Alejandro Alvarez Ramirez and Magesh
- 17 Panchanathan, who are ranked at the grandmaster level, and Marko
- 18 Zivanic, Davorin Kuljasevic, John Bartholomew, and Drasko
- 19 Boskovic, who are international masters; and
- WHEREAS, Every UT Dallas player won at least one match in the
- 21 tournament in Baltimore, and Mr. Zivanic, a native of Serbia and a
- 22 junior in computer science, earned a perfect score, winning all
- 23 three of his matches; together, the team members triumphed over
- 24 outstanding competitors from New York University and Miami Dade

- 1 College, as well as their archrival, the University of Maryland,
- 2 Baltimore County; and
- 3 WHEREAS, This latest success for the remarkable UT Dallas
- 4 players brings further credit to the university and to the State of
- 5 Texas, and these hardworking, disciplined, and talented
- 6 competitors may take great pride in their accomplishment; now,
- 7 therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 9 Legislature hereby congratulate The University of Texas at Dallas
- 10 chess team on winning the 2008 President's Cup chess championship
- 11 and extend to the members of the team sincere best wishes for
- 12 continued success; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 14 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 15 House of Representatives.

Madden

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 57 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House