H.R. No. 58

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For more than 15 years, Assistant City Manager 2 Michelle Thames has demonstrated exemplary professional and 3 personal commitment to the citizens of Richardson; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Thames earned her bachelor's degree in business administration from Midwestern State University and her master's degree in public administration from The University of Texas at Arlington; and

8 WHEREAS, Since 1991, this outstanding public servant has 9 worked for the City of Richardson; she is currently the assistant 10 city manager for administrative services, with responsibility for 11 human resources, the budget office, and emergency management; and

12 WHEREAS, Ms. Thames also oversees the Richardson Public 13 Library, Citizens Information Services, Citizens Information 14 Television, and the city's franchise and regulatory affairs; she 15 takes a leading role in the city's administration of the arts, 16 overseeing the Charles W. Eisemann Center for Performing Arts and 17 Corporate Presentations and working with local arts organizations 18 as the city's liaison to the Richardson Arts Commission; and

WHEREAS, A leader in her profession, Ms. Thames has served as president, vice president, and treasurer of the Urban Management Assistants of North Texas, and she has served on the professional development committee of the Texas City Management Association; she is an active member of the North Texas City Management Association and the International City/County Management Association; and

1

H.R. No. 58

WHEREAS, Despite her busy professional life, this caring 1 individual has also found time to give back to her community as a 2 3 member of the Junior Leaque of Richardson and Altrusa International; a graduate of Leadership Richardson and the Citizens 4 5 Police Academy, she also sits on the editorial board of Richardson Living magazine; and 6

7 WHEREAS, The many contributions of Ms. Thames to the civic 8 spirit and welfare of Richardson have been recognized with the 2008 9 Linda Keithley Award for Women in Public Management from the North 10 Central Texas Council of Governments, and in 2006, she was named 11 Outstanding Woman of the Year in the government category by Altrusa 12 International; and

WHEREAS, With the love and support of her husband, Phil, and their daughters, Sarah and Katherine, Michelle Thames is contributing greatly to the future of the dynamic community in which she lives, and she may indeed take pride in all that she has accomplished for the city of Richardson and its citizens; now, therefore, be it

19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 20 Legislature hereby commend Michelle Thames for her professional 21 achievements and her civic service and extend to her best wishes for 22 continued success and happiness; and, be it further

23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 24 prepared for Ms. Thames as an expression of high regard by the Texas 25 House of Representatives.

Madden

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 58

H.R. No. 58

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 58 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House