By: Madden

H.R. No. 59

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, In recognition of his exemplary service and 2 dedication to public safety, Officer Andrae Smith was named the 3 2007 Plano Police Department Officer of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Born in Dallas, Andrae Smith graduated from Garland
High School and went on to attend Navarro College and Collin County
Community College; he worked as a detention officer for the
Carrollton Police Department before joining the Plano department in
1996; and

9 WHEREAS, Officer Smith has served in the Patrol, Traffic, and 10 Hit and Run units and has assisted with recruiting and hiring; his 11 responsibilities also include serving as the backup public 12 information officer; through the years, he has received numerous 13 accolades, including a Meritorious Service Award, two Chief's Unit 14 awards, and a Civic Achievement Award for his involvement with the 15 Special Olympics Texas Law Enforcement Torch Run; and

16 WHEREAS, Officer Smith often went above and beyond the call 17 of duty in 2007; he made several difficult robbery arrests and 18 assisted in a perilous high water rescue after local thunderstorms 19 resulted in widespread flooding; and

20 WHEREAS, Exemplifying the highest ideals of law enforcement, 21 Andrae Smith has earned the respect and admiration of his fellow 22 officers and he may reflect with pride on the role he plays in 23 making his community safer; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

1

H.R. No. 59

Legislature hereby congratulate Officer Andrae Smith on his selection as the 2007 Plano Police Department Officer of the Year and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Officer Smith as an expression of high regard by the 7 Texas House of Representatives.