RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Allen D. Sapp, Jr., retired from his position as 2 director for administrative services with assistant Correctional Managed Health Care Committee on November 2, 2007, 3 drawing to a close an outstanding 28-year career with the Texas 4 5 Department of Criminal Justice; and 6 WHEREAS, A graduate of the Sam Houston State University 7 Criminal Justice Center, Mr. Sapp earned both bachelor's and master's degrees in social rehabilitation and social services; he 8 worked as a counselor and correctional officer before joining the 9 Research, Planning, and Development Division of TDCJ in November 10 11 1979; through the years, he served in a succession of progressively 12 more responsible positions, including those of management analyst, administrative procedures officer, and chief of 13 planning, 14 development, and procedures; in 1992, he was named the executive assistant for special projects, which allowed him to focus on 15 16 strategic planning, interagency cooperation, and a host of other vital initiatives; and 17 18 WHEREAS, When TDCJ implemented a managed health care system for prisoners in 1994, Mr. Sapp began his duties with the 19 20 Correctional Managed Health Care Committee; he played a critical 21 role in establishing the new program, developing partnerships with the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center and The University 22 23 of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston; his vision and skill helped

the system to earn national recognition for its success; in

24

H.R. No. 60

- 1 addition, Mr. Sapp contributed to a wide array of work groups and
- 2 standing committees, among them the System Leadership Council, the
- 3 Policy and Procedures Committee, and the Joint Committee on
- 4 Information Services; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Allen Sapp's financial and administrative
- 6 expertise, combined with an innovative outlook and tireless
- 7 dedication, has been a valued part of the Texas Department of
- 8 Criminal Justice, and his professional achievements will continue
- 9 to benefit the citizens of Texas for years to come; now, therefore,
- 10 be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby commend Allen D. Sapp, Jr., for his exemplary
- 13 career with the Texas Department of Criminal Justice and extend to
- 14 him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for Mr. Sapp as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 17 House of Representatives.

Madden

H.R. No. 60

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Martinez Fletcher Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

H.R. No. 60

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 60 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House