H.R. No. 64

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Allen High School Eagles football team won the
- 2 2008 University Interscholastic League 5A Division 1 state
- 3 championship with a 21-14 victory over previously unbeaten Fort
- 4 Bend Hightower at Reliant Stadium in Houston on December 20, 2008;
- 5 and
- 6 WHEREAS, This memorable triumph brought Allen High its first
- 7 state football title in the school's history, and it capped a
- 8 playoff run in which the squad bested two other undefeated teams,
- 9 Odessa Permian and Euless Trinity; finishing the season with 15
- 10 wins and only 1 defeat, the Eagles thrived under the inspired
- 11 leadership of head coach Tom Westerberg; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Quarterback Tucker Carter threw three touchdown
- 13 passes for the Eagles in the hard-fought championship game, and his
- 14 performance earned him the offensive MVP honor; Allen's stout
- 15 defense also contributed several key plays to the victory,
- 16 including a second-quarter goal-line stand that stopped Hightower
- 17 at the Eagles' one-yard line and a fourth-quarter interception by
- 18 linebacker Mitch Hartshorne; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Winning a state championship is the culmination of
- 20 countless hours of hard work and dedication, and these talented
- 21 student-athletes may take justifiable pride in their exceptional
- 22 achievement; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate the Allen High School Eagles on

H.R. No. 64

- 1 winning the 2008 UIL 5A Division 1 state football championship and
- 2 extend sincere best wishes to the players, coaches, and staff for
- 3 continued success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Paxton Laubenberg McCall

<b>TT</b>	_	7. T	_ 1
		NΩ	

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 64 was adopted by the House on January 22, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House