By: Geren

H.R. No. 70

RESOLUTION

BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the State of Texas, That, in accordance with Sections 9(b) and 11, Article III, Texas Constitution, the House of Representatives of the 81st Legislature shall receive nominations to elect a speaker of the house from its own membership as follows:

6 SECTION 1. NOMINATIONS. (a) The secretary of state shall 7 call for nominations from the floor for the election of speaker of 8 the house of representatives and shall recognize every member who 9 desires to make a nomination. The order in which members desiring 10 to make a nomination shall proceed shall be determined by lot.

(b) Each member recognized for this purpose shall immediately advance to the front microphone and make the nomination in a nominating speech not to exceed five minutes in length.

14 (c) After all nominations have been made, the secretary of15 state shall declare nominations to be closed.

16 (d) The secretary of state shall recognize at any time a 17 member whose name has been placed in nomination for the purpose of 18 withdrawing as a nominee. A member who withdraws is not considered 19 a nominee.

20 SECTION 2. SECONDS. (a) A person is not considered a 21 nominee unless the nomination is seconded by at least one member.

(b) One seconding speech shall be allowed for each nomination in the order in which nominations were made, then other seconding speeches shall be allowed in rotation in the same order.

1

1 (c) No more than five seconding speeches shall be allowed 2 for each nominee.

H.R. No. 70

3 (d) A seconding speech may not exceed three minutes in 4 length.

5 SECTION 3. MOTION TO ELECT BY ACCLAMATION. If after the 6 close of all seconding speeches only one member's name remains in 7 nomination for election to speaker of the house of representatives, 8 the secretary of state shall recognize a motion to elect that member 9 as speaker by acclamation.

10 SECTION 4. OATH. If a speaker is elected by acclamation, 11 the secretary of state shall direct the administration of the oath 12 of office to the speaker-elect. The speaker shall take the chair 13 immediately after taking the oath of office.

2