## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Marsha E. Asplin of Katy has served with distinction
- 2 as a precinct chair, making lasting contributions to the residents
- 3 of the local area and helping to strengthen the Lone Star State's
- 4 representative form of government; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Precinct chairs play an integral role in the
- 6 electoral process, and their efforts to promote their parties'
- 7 candidates are part of a proud and vital tradition that has helped
- 8 assure that the voices of all citizens are heard; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The value of these dedicated community leaders has
- 10 been recognized by the members of the Texas Legislature, who in 2007
- 11 established the second Tuesday in January as Volunteers for
- 12 Democracy Day, which honors precinct chairs and other individuals
- 13 who enable the state's democratic system of balloting; and
- 14 WHEREAS, It is most appropriate to take this opportunity to
- 15 recognize an outstanding Texan who has devoted time and energy to
- 16 help maintain open and fair participation in area elections; now,
- 17 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 19 Legislature hereby commend Marsha E. Asplin for serving as a
- 20 precinct chair and extend sincere best wishes to this
- 21 public-spirited individual for continued success and achievement;
- 22 and, be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for Marsha E. Asplin as an expression of high regard by the

1 Texas House of Representatives.

Callegari

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Miklos Alonzo Giddings Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 76 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House