H.R. No. 82

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Ruthie Thomas of Cypress has served with distinction 2 as a precinct chair, making lasting contributions to the residents 3 of the local area and helping to strengthen the Lone Star State's 4 representative form of government; and

5 WHEREAS, Precinct chairs play an integral role in the 6 electoral process, and their efforts to promote their parties' 7 candidates are part of a proud and vital tradition that has helped 8 assure that the voices of all citizens are heard; and

9 WHEREAS, The value of these dedicated community leaders has 10 been recognized by the members of the Texas Legislature, who in 2007 11 established the second Tuesday in January as Volunteers for 12 Democracy Day, which honors precinct chairs and other individuals 13 who enable the state's democratic system of balloting; and

14 WHEREAS, It is most appropriate to take this opportunity to 15 recognize an outstanding Texan who has devoted time and energy to 16 help maintain open and fair participation in area elections; now, 17 therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 19 Legislature hereby commend Ruthie Thomas for serving as a precinct 20 chair and extend sincere best wishes to this public-spirited 21 individual for continued success and achievement; and, be it 22 further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Ruthie Thomas as an expression of high regard by the

1

H.R. No. 82

## 1 Texas House of Representatives.

Callegari

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 82

H.R. No. 82

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 82 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House