H.R. No. 114

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Judy Whitaker of the Katy Independent School
 District has been named the 2008 Teacher of the Year by the Texas
 Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages Region IV; and

WHEREAS, An ESOL teacher at Mayde Creek High School in Houston, Ms. Whitaker encourages her students to work hard and to reach their full potential; she inspires them to become confident and accomplished writers and speakers of English, and as a result, her students regularly achieve high scores on TAKS tests in language arts; and

10 WHEREAS, Ms. Whitaker's positive influence extends as well to 11 her fellow instructors across the district, with whom she 12 generously shares lesson plan strategies, methods, and materials; 13 moreover, she takes part in conferences and staff development 14 programs and applies new ideas in creative ways in her classroom; 15 and

16 WHEREAS, With her enthusiastic commitment to developing in 17 her students the skills necessary for success in the years to come, 18 this esteemed educator brings innovation, inspiration, and a spirit 19 of cooperation to her work at Mayde Creek High School, and her 20 receipt of this honor justly recognizes her contribution; now, 21 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Judy Whitaker on her selection as the 2008 Teacher of the Year by the Texas Teachers of English to

1

H.R. No. 114
Speakers of Other Languages Region IV and extend to her sincere best
wishes for continued success; and, be it further

3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 4 prepared for Ms. Whitaker as an expression of high regard by the 5 Texas House of Representatives.

Callegari

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 114

H.R. No. 114

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 114 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House