H.R. No. 120

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Chief Ron R. Echols of the Missouri City Police
Department retired on January 16, 2009, after an exceptional
28-year career with that organization; and

WHEREAS, A lifelong resident of Missouri City, Ron Echols 4 5 began working for the police department in the late 1970s as a part-time communications officer, and in 1980, he joined the ranks 6 as a police officer; over the course of his career, he has completed 7 a range of assignments, including public safety officer, field 8 training officer, and detective; in 1995, he was promoted to 9 he served as commander of 10 lieutenant, and the patrol, 11 administration, and criminal investigation divisions before he was appointed assistant chief in 2001; and 12

13 WHEREAS, Chief Echols assumed the helm of the Missouri City 14 Police Department in August 2003, and with a clear vision for the future, he built impressively on the agency's strengths and made 15 16 lasting improvements; his reorganization initiative resulted in the creation of a command staff to manage the various divisions, and 17 he expanded the community policing program; in addition, he 18 instituted bike and ATV patrols, modernized the city's police 19 20 vehicles, and developed a special-crimes unit that operates in 21 conjunction with the Sugar Land and Stafford Police Departments; Chief Echols also encouraged his department's participation in the 22 23 Best Practices Recognition Program of the Texas Police Chiefs Association, and under his guidance, Missouri City was named the 24

1

1 22nd safest American city of its size by Congressional Quarterly; 2 and

H.R. No. 120

3 WHEREAS, A graduate of the FBI National Academy and the FBI Law Enforcement Executive Development Seminar, Chief Echols has 4 5 also earned the Master Peace Officer designation; he has been active in professional organizations such as the FBI National 6 Academy Associates of Texas the Texas Police Chiefs 7 and 8 Association, which he served as Region 14 director and sergeant-at-arms; moreover, he is a former president and member of 9 10 the executive board of the Houston Area Police Chiefs Association and an associate member of the International Association of Chiefs 11 12 of Police; and

WHEREAS, As Chief Echols takes on his new role as chief of the 13 14 Live Oak Police Department, he may reflect with pride on the positive influence he has had on his hometown of Missouri City; 15 throughout his distinguished tenure with the city's police force, 16 Texan has upheld 17 this esteemed the highest standards of professionalism and integrity, and his dedicated efforts have 18 19 contributed immeasurably to the safety and well-being of his fellow citizens; now, therefore, be it 20

21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 22 Legislature hereby congratulate Chief Ron R. Echols on his 23 retirement from the Missouri City Police Department and extend to 24 him sincere best wishes for continued success and happiness; and, 25 be it further

26 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 27 prepared for Chief Echols as an expression of high regard by the

2

H.R. No. 120

1 Texas House of Representatives.

Howard of Fort Bend

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 120

4

H.R. No. 120

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 120 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House