RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, January 15, 2009, marks the 80th anniversary of the birth of the great civil rights leader and humanitarian Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.; and

WHEREAS, Dr. King joined the NAACP at an early age, and by
1954 he held a seat on the organization's executive committee; he
rose to national prominence in 1955-1956, when he served as a
spiritual and moral leader of the historic bus boycott in
Montgomery, Alabama; a watershed event, the boycott led to the
banning of segregation in local and interstate travel in the United

movement; and

WHEREAS, In 1957, Dr. King and a number of other ministers

founded the Southern Christian Leadership Conference; a leading

civil rights organization, the SCLC coordinated mass protest

10

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

States and simultaneously helped to launch the civil rights

campaigns and voter registration drives across the South; and

WHEREAS, Dr. King served as president of the SCLC from its inception until his death on April 4, 1968; during those tumultuous years, he wrote five books and numerous articles, traveled more than six million miles, and spoke at over 2,500 events; frequently jailed for peaceful protest, he endured numerous personal threats and attacks over the course of his career; and

WHEREAS, In recognition of his immeasurable influence and moral stature, *Time* magazine named Dr. King its Man of the Year in 1963, and in 1964, at the age of 35, he was awarded the Nobel Prize

- 1 for Peace; he donated the money that accompanied the prize, more
- 2 than \$54,000, to further the civil rights movement; and
- 3 WHEREAS, A federal holiday commemorating Dr. King's birth was
- 4 created by the U.S. Congress in 1983; this holiday was first
- 5 observed in 1986 and was observed in all 50 states for the first
- 6 time in 1993; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Through his courageous, unflinching pursuit of
- 8 social and economic justice, Dr. King helped to shatter a deeply
- 9 entrenched system of second-class citizenship and bring to further
- 10 fruition this country's liberating ideals of freedom, equality, and
- 11 human dignity; now, therefore, be it
- 12 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 13 Legislature hereby honor the life of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.,
- 14 and call on all Texans to join in carrying forward his dream of a
- more just, tolerant, and inclusive society.

Giddings

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Gonzales Miller of Comal Alvarado Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Howard of Travis Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Solomons Driver Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber Frost Woolley McClendon

Zerwas

McReynolds

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 121 was adopted by the House on January 15, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House