H.R. No. 127

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Linda Chavez-Thompson, executive vice president 2 emerita of the AFL-CIO, has dedicated herself to America's workers 3 for more than 40 years, forging new pathways for the labor movement; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, A second-generation American of Mexican descent, Ms. Chavez-Thompson was born and raised in the Lubbock area; she 6 7 began laboring long hours in the fields with her father at the age of 10; her formal education ended after the ninth grade, when family 8 circumstances forced her to work full-time picking cotton and 9 cleaning houses; she never ceased to study, however, and her 10 11 extraordinary career began at 24, when a family friend who could not 12 speak Spanish hired her as his bilingual secretary at the local chapter of the Laborers International Union; her skill and keen 13 14 intelligence led to a job overseeing tornado relief efforts for the AFL-CIO in 1971, and later that year she was hired by the American 15 16 Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Chavez-Thompson rose through the ranks as an 17 organizer and went on to serve with great distinction as an 18 international vice president of the AFSCME; she also served as 19 national vice president of the AFL-CIO Labor Council for Latin 20 21 American Advancement; in 1993, she was elected as a vice president of the executive council of the national AFL-CIO, and two years 22 23 later she was elected executive vice president of the federation, becoming the first person of color to hold one of its three highest 24

1

H.R. No. 127

1 offices; and

2 WHEREAS, During her 12 years as the highest ranking woman in organized labor, Ms. Chavez-Thompson helped reinvigorate the 3 movement by using innovative methods to connect with 4 new 5 constituencies, including women, minorities, and immigrants; demonstrating profound compassion for those facing discrimination 6 and exploitation, she focused on civil rights, human rights, and 7 8 community issues and built valuable coalitions with outside organizations and religious groups; her endeavors have been 9 recognized with such accolades as the 2008 Farmworker Justice 10 Award, a Mother Jones Award from the Coalition of Labor Union Women, 11 and the 2003 Latina of the Year Award from CATALINA magazine and 12 Hispanas Organized for Political Equality; and 13

14 WHEREAS, This dynamic Texan retired to San Antonio in 15 September 2007 to spend more time with her children and grandchildren, but she remains active as executive vice president 16 17 emerita, as chair of the AFL-CIO Immigration Committee, and as president of the Trade Union Confederation of the Americas; in 18 2008, she led an AFL-CIO fact-finding delegation to Colombia and 19 aided the federation's campaign to protect the voting rights of 20 Hispanic citizens; moreover, she serves as a vice chair of the 21 22 Democratic National Committee and as the labor representative to the Public Board of Trustees of the San Antonio Transit Authority; 23 24 and

25 WHEREAS, For more than four decades, Linda Chavez-Thompson 26 has been a bold and effective champion of American workers; her 27 efforts to combat social and economic injustice have helped

2

1 countless people realize their dreams of a better life; now, 2 therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 4 Legislature hereby commend Linda Chavez-Thompson for her 5 remarkable contributions to workers' issues and civil and human 6 rights and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success; 7 and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Ms. Chavez-Thompson as an expression of high regard by 10 the Texas House of Representatives.

McClendon

H.R. No. 127

3

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 127

H.R. No. 127

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 127 was adopted by the House on February 10, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House