H.R. No. 131

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Cisco High School Loboes football team had an
- 2 exceptional 2008 season, reaching the University Interscholastic
- 3 League 2A Division 2 state championship game for the third time in
- 4 seven years; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Finishing the year with a record of 14 wins and 2
- 6 losses, the Loboes' thrilling run through the playoffs included
- 7 victories over Henrietta, Bangs, Lubbock Roosevelt, Idalou, and
- 8 Pottsboro before it ended with a hard-fought loss to Daingerfield
- 9 in the title game; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Several Cisco players were recognized with
- 11 all-district 6-2A honors in 2008; Josh Bridges was named offensive
- 12 Most Valuable Player while also making the first team as a defensive
- 13 back; others to garner first-team honors were Joe Wells, Richard
- 14 Stogner, Cory Pippen, Russell Adams, Stormy Smothers, and Robert
- 15 Medina; the second team included Kaleb Eaker, Evan Herod, Vegas
- 16 Hastings, Tyler Cooper, Trevor Honea, Bradley Toler, Mason Gassett,
- 17 and Tanner Garcia; and
- WHEREAS, The Loboes also received essential contributions
- 19 from the other members of the roster: Dan Carney, Cody Griffith,
- 20 Erick Miller, Nathan Addison, Austin Busby, Thomas Hernandez,
- 21 Javier Reyna, Cody Joyner, Justin Harrison, Kolton Preston, and
- 22 Colt Sanchez; and
- WHEREAS, Ably guided by head coach Brent West, these
- 24 dedicated student-athletes have earned the respect and admiration

H.R. No. 131

- 1 of their many supporters in the community, and the hard work and
- 2 commitment to excellence that they demonstrated throughout the year
- 3 will serve them well in all of their future endeavors; now,
- 4 therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby congratulate the Cisco High School football team
- 7 on its outstanding 2008 season and extend sincere best wishes to the
- 8 players, coaches, and staff for continued success; and, be it
- 9 further
- 10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 11 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 12 House of Representatives.

Keffer

H.R. No. 131

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 131 was adopted by the House on February 9, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House