RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Governor Rick Perry has proclaimed January 2009 2 School Board Recognition Month in Texas, and this observance provides a welcome opportunity to recognize the invaluable work 3 performed by the members of the Georgetown ISD School Board; and 4 5 WHEREAS, The mission of public schools across the state and nation is to meet the diverse educational needs of our children and 6 7 to empower them to become productive contributors to society in an 8 ever-changing complex world; and WHEREAS, To that end, school board trustees work closely with 9

parents, teachers, and other members of the community to create a challenging and supportive learning environment and to offer the best educational opportunities to students in their district; and WHEREAS, These dedicated volunteers have many important responsibilities, which include setting goals and establishing

standards for the district's school system, hiring administrators, and adopting policies and budgets, and the board's actions and

17 decisions greatly affect the present and future lives of our youth;

18 and

10

11

12

13

14

WHEREAS, Members of the Georgetown ISD School Board bring to their endeavors a commitment to academic excellence, and through their vision and leadership they are contributing immeasurably to the continued prosperity of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

- 1 Legislature hereby commend the trustees of the Georgetown ISD
- 2 School Board for their distinguished service on the occasion of
- 3 School Board Recognition Month in Texas; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the board as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Maldonado

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Branch Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Hilderbran Callegari Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 137 was adopted by the House on January 28, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House