H.R. No. 139

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Governor Rick Perry has proclaimed January 2009 2 School Board Recognition Month in Texas, and this observance 3 provides a welcome opportunity to recognize the invaluable work 4 performed by the members of the Taylor ISD School Board; and

5 WHEREAS, The mission of public schools across the state and 6 nation is to meet the diverse educational needs of our children and 7 to empower them to become productive contributors to society in an 8 ever-changing complex world; and

9 WHEREAS, To that end, school board trustees work closely with 10 parents, teachers, and other members of the community to create a 11 challenging and supportive learning environment and to offer the 12 best educational opportunities to students in their district; and

WHEREAS, These dedicated volunteers have many important responsibilities, which include setting goals and establishing standards for the district's school system, hiring administrators, and adopting policies and budgets, and the board's actions and decisions greatly affect the present and future lives of our youth; and

WHEREAS, Members of the Taylor ISD School Board bring to their endeavors a commitment to academic excellence, and through their vision and leadership they are contributing immeasurably to the continued prosperity of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

1

H.R. No. 139
1 Legislature hereby commend the trustees of the Taylor ISD School
2 Board for their distinguished service on the occasion of School
3 Board Recognition Month in Texas; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the board as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Maldonado

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 139

H.R. No. 139

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 139 was adopted by the House on January 29, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House