RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Melvin A. Arnold has reached a significant milestone
- 2 in his extraordinary 60-year career in law enforcement with his
- 3 retirement in 2008 as chief deputy sheriff of the Jim Wells County
- 4 Sheriff Department in Alice; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Born in 1927 in Lott, Mr. Arnold began his career as
- 6 a peace officer in 1948 with the Robstown Police Department; he took
- 7 time away from the department to serve his nation as a United States
- 8 Marine, receiving his honorable discharge at the rank of sergeant
- 9 in 1952; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Mr. Arnold returned to the Robstown PD following his
- 11 military service, and, until he left the department in 1980, he
- 12 distinguished himself in a number of positions, including traffic
- 13 officer, patrol sergeant, assistant chief, and captain of
- 14 detectives; he served twice as chief of the department; and
- WHEREAS, In 1981, Mr. Arnold went to work for the Jim Wells
- 16 County Sheriff Department, where he served as chief deputy sheriff
- 17 for nearly 30 years; although he has retired from that position, he
- 18 continues to stand ready as a member of the department's reserve
- 19 force, making him one of the oldest active peace officers in Texas;
- 20 and
- 21 WHEREAS, For more than six decades, Chief Deputy Arnold's
- 22 dedication, professionalism, and commitment to the public safety
- 23 have greatly benefited his fellow Texans, and he may indeed reflect
- 24 with pride on a career well spent; now, therefore, be it

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Melvin A. Arnold on his retirement
- 3 as chief deputy sheriff and commend him for his continuing service
- 4 to the Jim Wells County Sheriff Department; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Chief Deputy Arnold as an expression of high regard by
- 7 the Texas House of Representatives.

Herrero

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Hilderbran Callegari Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

_ _ _

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 145 was adopted by the House on February 9, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House