## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Rose Shaw Special Emphasis School in Corpus Christi
- 2 was named a 2008 No Child Left Behind--Blue Ribbon School, the
- 3 highest national designation a school can receive; and
- WHEREAS, The Blue Ribbon Schools Program was created by the
- 5 U.S. Department of Education in 1982 and was redesigned in 2002
- 6 under the No Child Left Behind Act; to qualify for nomination,
- 7 schools must demonstrate academic superiority within their state or
- 8 show dramatic gains in student achievement; and
- 9 WHEREAS, One of only 26 schools in the state to receive this
- 10 prestigious award, Rose Shaw SES opened in 2005 and enrolls
- 11 students in prekindergarten through the fifth grade; the school's
- 12 mission is to create a place where every student can learn with the
- 13 help of staff, parents, and the community; skillfully led by
- 14 principal Rafael Silva and assistant principal Laura
- 15 Quiroz-Colunga, Rose Shaw SES was also rated one of the best public
- 16 schools in the Lone Star State by Texas Monthly magazine in 2006 and
- 17 2007; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Through commitment, hard work, and perseverance,
- 19 the teachers and students of Rose Shaw Special Emphasis School have
- 20 accomplished a record of academic excellence, and their outstanding
- 21 achievements were duly recognized with this Blue Ribbon School
- 22 designation; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby honor Rose Shaw Special Emphasis School on its

- 1 selection as a 2008 No Child Left Behind--Blue Ribbon School and
- 2 extend to its teachers, students, and staff sincere best wishes for
- 3 continued success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Rose Shaw Special Emphasis School as an expression of
- 6 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Ortiz, Jr. Herrero

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Gonzales Miller of Comal Alvarado Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Howard of Travis Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Kleinschmidt Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 151 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House