## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Girl Scouts of Central Texas are selling cookies 2 in 46 counties from January 21 to February 27, 2009; and 3 WHEREAS, Dedicated to building character and developing leadership, confidence, and social awareness among its members, 4 5 Girl Scouts of the USA has been conducting the cookie fund-raiser since December 1917, and today this program remains an important 6 component of the Girl Scout business and economic literacy 7 initiative; by selling cookies, girls learn such life skills as 8 9 money management, teamwork, and public speaking; revenue from the Girl Scout Cookie Program is directed toward the recruitment and 10 11 training of volunteer leaders, financial assistance to keep the 12 scouting program available to all, and the improvement of camps and other sites, as well as toward the troops' own activities; and 13 14 WHEREAS, In 2008, more than 11,000 Girl Scouts in Central Texas sold 1.97 million boxes of cookies and raised approximately 15 16 \$6.8 million for the council and over \$260,000 for troop programs, which included more than 5,000 community service projects; in 17 addition, these fine young Texans collected nearly 50,000 boxes of 18 cookies to send to U.S. troops overseas; and 19 20 WHEREAS, By inspiring young women to become leaders and 21 providing them with a solid foundation for future achievement, the Girl Scout councils of Central Texas are enriching countless lives 22 23 and developing a host of engaged and thoughtful citizens who

realize the value of giving back to their communities; now,

24

- 1 therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby commend the Girl Scouts of Central Texas for
- 4 their community service efforts and extend to them sincere best
- 5 wishes for a successful Girl Scout Cookie Program in 2009; and, be
- 6 it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for the Girl Scouts of Central Texas as an expression of
- 9 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Strama

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Gonzales Miller of Comal Alvarado Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Howard of Travis Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Kleinschmidt Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 156 was adopted by the House on January 27, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House