H.R. No. 157

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Charles Lewis Merriweather of Austin, a member of 2 Boy Scouts of America Troop 513, has attained the rank of Eagle 3 Scout, and this accomplishment truly merits special recognition; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, Receiving the Eagle Scout badge is a significant 6 honor, bestowed on only a small fraction of those who enter the 7 scouting movement; in the course of meeting the rank's demanding 8 criteria, Mr. Merriweather earned the requisite 21 merit badges and 9 successfully completed an Eagle Scout project by leading the 10 planning, design, and installation of a fence, gate, and compost 11 bin for the Spicewood Elementary School Garden Club; and

WHEREAS, This fine young Texan has been a Boy Scout for seven years and has been inducted into the Order of the Arrow, the national honor society of scouting; he has demonstrated outstanding leadership ability throughout his time in the organization and won the respect and admiration of his fellow scouts as he worked toward the highest rank that scouting offers; and

WHEREAS, Equally accomplished in his other endeavors, Mr. Merriweather has contributed to the Westwood High School basketball and football teams for four years and has attended the Philmont Scout Ranch, Boy Scouts of America Sea Base, Buffalo Trails Scout Reservation, and numerous other high adventure scouting and venture crew activities; and

24

WHEREAS, Eagle Scout Merriweather's dedication to excellence

1

1 and his perseverance in the pursuit of his goals have proven him 2 worthy to stand among scouting's elite, and he may indeed reflect 3 with pride on a job well done; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate Charles Merriweather on achieving
the rank of Eagle Scout and extend to him sincere best wishes for
continued success and happiness; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Mr. Merriweather as an expression of high regard by the 10 Texas House of Representatives.

Strama

H.R. No. 157

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 157

H.R. No. 157

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 157 was adopted by the House on February 4, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House