By: Frost H.R. No. 158

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Dr. Carlisle Baxter Rathburn III is being installed
- 2 as the third president of Texas A&M University--Texarkana at an
- 3 investiture ceremony on February 5, 2009; and
- WHEREAS, A longtime leader in higher education, C. B.
- 5 Rathburn began his notable career at the University of Florida; he
- 6 went on to serve at Santa Fe Community College and Valencia
- 7 Community College before relocating to Texas, where he joined the
- 8 staff of Galveston College in 1984; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Dr. Rathburn's dedication and hard work earned him a
- 10 number of promotions during his tenure in Galveston; he held vice
- 11 presidential positions for more than a decade, and in 1995 he was
- 12 named president of the school; and
- WHEREAS, Most recently, this respected administrator served
- 14 as president of Savannah Technical College in Georgia, and his
- 15 leadership helped that institution to become the third fastest
- 16 growing two-year college of its size, according to Community
- 17 College Times, with a total enrollment growth of nearly 70 percent;
- 18 he also oversaw a redevelopment of the main campus that included the
- 19 addition of three new facilities totaling 135,000 square feet; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Dr. Rathburn completed his own education at the
- 21 University of Florida at Gainesville, where he earned a Ph.D. in
- 22 higher education administration after graduating with honors from
- 23 Huntingdon College in Montgomery, Alabama; and
- 24 WHEREAS, He has shared his expertise with such professional

- H.R. No. 158
- 1 organizations as the American Association of Community Colleges,
- 2 the National Commission on Instructional Technology, and the
- 3 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, to which he was
- 4 elected commissioner; he has also given back through his work with
- 5 the National Commission on Workforce and Economic Development, the
- 6 Savannah Poverty Reduction plan, and the Savannah, Galveston, and
- 7 Georgia Area Chambers of Commerce; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Through the years, Dr. Rathburn has garnered a host
- 9 of accolades for his work, including the 2007 Outstanding Graduate
- 10 Award from the Institute of Higher Education at the University of
- 11 Florida, the 2006 Savannah Industrial Person of the Year award, the
- 12 Distinguished Service Award from the City of Galveston, the Texas
- 13 Association of Colleges and Universities Excellence in Higher
- 14 Education Award, and the Myrtle S. Bonner Award for Excellence in
- 15 Education; and
- WHEREAS, With his proven leadership ability and extensive
- 17 experience in higher education, C. B. Rathburn is uniquely
- 18 qualified to build on Texas A&M University--Texarkana's record of
- 19 academic achievement and to further its commitment to excellence;
- 20 now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. Carlisle Baxter Rathburn III on
- 23 his appointment as president of Texas A&M University--Texarkana and
- 24 extend to him sincere best wishes for success in his new post; and,
- 25 be it further
- 26 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 27 prepared for Dr. Rathburn as an expression of high regard by the

H.R. No. 158

1 Texas House of Representatives.