H.R. No. 159

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Bikers from across Texas are gathering on January
26, 2009, for their Legislative Day at the State Capitol; and

3 WHEREAS, Assembling for the occasion are members of myriad 4 local clubs and such statewide groups as the Texas Motorcycle 5 Rights Association, the Texas ABATE Confederation, and the Texas 6 Confederation of Clubs; more than 400,000 motorcycles are 7 registered in the Lone Star State, and this biennial event draws 8 thousands of bikers; and

9 WHEREAS, Laced with over 200,000 miles of highways and park, 10 county, and farm-to-market roads, the Lone Star State offers ample 11 room to roam, and the Texas motorcycle fraternity includes members 12 in every corner of the land; notable Texas bikers include such 13 officials as Governor Rick Perry, Senator Kel Seliger, and 14 Representatives Fred Brown, Norma Chavez, and Chuck Hopson; and

15 WHEREAS, Texas motorcyclists contribute significantly to 16 their communities, organizing riding events for the enjoyment of 17 the entire family and for the support of a wide range of charitable 18 causes; and

WHEREAS, Together with their readiness to lend a helping hand, motorcycle enthusiasts embody the spirit of adventure, love of the outdoors, and passion for freedom that have long been associated with the Texan character; through their attention to the legislative process, these concerned citizens are seeking to address issues of importance to motorists across the Lone Star

1

H.R. No. 159

1 State; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 3 Legislature welcome all those motorcyclists participating in 4 Legislative Day at the State Capitol and extend to them sincere best 5 wishes for an enjoyable and memorable visit.

Chavez

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 159

Menendez

H.R. No. 159

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 159 was adopted by the House on January 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House